Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
246
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2003
In a world of pop music mediocrity and shameless promotion, Motörhead retain an honest integrity that belies its rough and ready image. That it should matter twenty-five years on is testament to one man, Ian ‘Lemmy’ Kilmister.
This riveting autobiography reveals more about the man than has previously been proffered and for devotees and novices alike, it is written with enough character and drama to keep you enthralled until the end. As you turn the pages your jaw remains firmly upon your chest as time after time you wonder just how Lemmy survived it all. What is evident is that the world is a far richer place for his contribution. One would perhaps expect little coherence or worldly logic after the years of hard rocking, but whilst single-minded and brash, Lemmy’s been-there-seen-it-done-it philosophy is as refreshing as it is often controversial.
There can be no other rock artist around today who has remained so true to his roots, despite the incredible obstacles that have confronted him. His extraordinary story is brutally frank, capturing the wild innocence of youth, the transient formative years and the belief in an ‘honest’ rock n’ roll lifestyle. With stepping stones such as the Rocking Vicars and Hawkwind, Lemmy permits us to draw our own conclusions about his character with candid praise and scathing criticism of those who have crossed his path.
This is raw, unpretentious rock and roll, with no punches pulled. As Lemmy approaches sixty, you are left with the distinct feeling that he has only just got going!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by this book - it is a good laugh, and Lemmy comes across as quite a normal bloke - for a hard-as-nails rocker, which he clearly is. There are some amusing anecdotes; a lot of stories about why he fell out with various band members; why he fell out with various recording engineers, record label executives, promoters etc.; and lots of stories about drugs, and full in your face, louder than 11 rock. At the end you wonder how Lemmy survived in a lucid enough state to put this book together, but if you are into loud rock and its proponents, you will probably enjoy it as I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
I must say that I have enjoyed reading this book to a certain degree though I did at times find Lemmys writing style somewhat rushed. You see the storys he tells has no structure to them and jump all over the place, teasing you with a humourous anidote drawing you in and then moving swiftly on to something else leaving you wanting more. This book is a very quick read indeed not for its length but in the detail he misses out. He will recount how he played with another artist and then that will be it, no ifs buts or whys, personally I felt it would have been much better if someone else wrote it .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2003
Seems as though Lemmy's two main preoccupations in life are sex and music. Real party animal. His book seems to prove the idea that the way to happiness is finding out what your both good at and and enjoy, and then going for it. Also makes for a good anti-hard drug advert, his remarks on needles and heroin are shocking. Exposes some sleazey practices in the music industry. How Lemmy's go on with fans over the years. Even if your not into hard rock, but want to get into the music industry I suspect this book has useful lessons. Overall GOOD STUFF!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
As rock star's go Lemmy has always been at the forefront. This book doesn't disappoint, it's the funniest autobiography I've ever read i'll say that for sure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2003
Lemmy is rock'n'roll, its difficult to think of anyone else who has so uncomprimsingly lived the life to its full, and we get it all in this warts(!) n all biography. From his early years faking it on his mums guitar through Hawkwind amd Motorheads rise and (relative) fall we get it all.
Lemmy comes of a a likeable and honest if uncopromising character, there is no false modesty about the man but then why should there be. Sex, drugs and Rockn'roll it all here, you will marvel both at the amount of drugs he takes and the number of women he beds. In the end though it is touring and playing which is his driving force which is why he is still at it at 58! There is no doubting the mans love for his music.
Best parts are probably the Hawkwind years and the early Motorhead days. The later years are skimmed over a bit and seem to come down to an endless cycle of switching record companies, managers and band members.
You don't need to be a big Motorhead fan to enjoy this, I'm certainly not. It a witty and entertianing story well told, what more could you ask for?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2011
I bought this book on advice from a friend. I couldn't wait for it to arrive and have since not been able to put it down ! Lemmy gives a very honest account of his life he tells of his and others drug use but treats it in such a way so as he adds no gloss to it, its just a thing he does. So far Ive laughed giggled and cried with this book. In places its touching and a reminder to all of us, in others its hysterically funny at the stuff they did and have got away with ... to sum it up its a great read and I would recommend it to anyone Tx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2003
Having followed Motorhead since 1980, I thought I would love the book and most of it I do. Lemmy takes the reader on a wonderful trip(in some places chemically enhanced)through his life. The early years are very well written and the influence of his early upbringing explains much of his attitudes and opinions. In places moving and always amusing.
The stories remain a fantastic picture of life in the hardest working rock band, tales of the excesses indulged in will make you want to throw away the suit and strap on the guitar.
My only gripe, is that the period 91-02 isn't covered in the same depth as the early years. Whether this is due to the consumption of earlier days ruining his memory or (And this is what I suspect) that the long running battle with the publishers/editors was lost and large chunks were cut probably for legal reasons, I know not.
But to surmise, a wonderful picture of a man totally at ease with the rock and roll lifestyle if less so with the business end of it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
How Lemmy lived so long is a miracle of science.
Very interesting read. Provides an insight into the mind of a rock legend, but does not get personal enough.
Lemmy talks a lot about flitting between bands and the ever changing line up in Motorhead, but very little about himself or relationships. We hear about the many women he has sex with while on tour or partying high on drugs and booze, but something is missing. He seems to be very lonely.
Overall a very good read, but it's just a diary of motorheads struggle really.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2004
As Virgil lead Dante through Hell and out the other side, so Lemmy is ourguide on this blast through his life - from his childhood to (almost) thepresent day. Along the way he takes in a large slice of rock-n-rollhistory, all of which he was personally involved in at one time oranother, including Hendrix, Hawkwind, The Damned and his own legendaryband, Motorhead.
We are treated to many and varied stories of sexual and chemical excess,intermingled with his personal thoughts on the music industry, producers,managers, musicians and groupies, all told in his forthright andhillarious style.
Despite - or perhaps because of - everything he's been through, and hasput himself through, Lemmy remains a thoughtful, philisophical character,displaying a deep understanding of the human spirit. He leaves the readeron a high, with the tantalising prospect that there's a lot more yet tocome.
If you are at-all into rock'n'roll or metal and you only ever read oneautobiography, this should be it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)