Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
28
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2006
One of the realists films. Shows a snap shot of underworld life in liverpool and the gun culture amoung gangsters and petty thugs.
The cast are non actors but everyday underworld members who bring a touch of realism to their roles.
i thought the ending wasn't great and 1 or two of the deleated scenes could have been added so the audience could get a better understanding of Johns character, but i managed to follow it fine and have an understanding into the world the director was portraying.
i also feel that it could have been more violent and crude to really reflect real life.
with a small budget and no trained actors, i think this is a classic film. the acting is great and the characters are excellent
if you love gangster, real life flicks or wanna hear some great dialogue you must see this
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Set in Liverpool SHOOTERS could easily be shot in any city in the UK as it shows a side of Gangland culture that is rarely displayed in a film. You won't find any corny dialog and Holywood car chases in this film, instead you are taken on a journey through the life and crimes of inner city gangsters.
This film is as realistic as they come and pulls no punches whatsoever. The violence is quite graphic and the language coarse but it is an accurate depiction of gangland culture.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2005
Nothing for tender souls, but for all who love it rough and pure.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2004
I started watching the film before my daughter got home from nursery and had to turn it of due to the nature of it.I was completely hooked on finishing watching it and had to get out of bed to do so.An amazing and totally gripping film.The best gangster film i have seen to date by a stretch.Very powerful and extremly well made.Its a shocking reminder that this is very true to real life.Awesome!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
I heard about this but somehow had missed it when it first aired on Channel 4.
I purchased it without having any expectations with the people in the film being rank amateurs without any experience.
From the opening credits which has a haunting musical score with xylophone type music showing the camera panning across Merseyside you just knew it was going to be something more than it was billed to be.

I'll not go into it here but it was an exceptionally honest, Brutal portrayal of Working Class criminality within the inner cities of any City in Britain !
The performances from people involved gave it a realism you could only ever hope to get from so called Professional actors who were paid.

A Real Tour De Force !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
This is an unbelieveable film !! Made using people from the streets the film was made in.
The acting is authentic & when you know these people are capable of the acts they're committing in the film, in real life,
it brings a reality to it that is rarely shown in other films by trained actors.
the story is tense & gripping & makes you feel like you're on the streets of Liverpool with the actors.
Disturbing, realistic, enthralling & totally compelling. Highly Recommended 5 Stars
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
I bought this then it re appeared on youtube days later. Real deal naughty boys from Liverpool, the guy practicing with the gun firing at the bin actually got murdered. This is what a gangster movie should be like, not little softies like that Statham bloke who seems to be appearing on every tough guy movie. Awesome !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2008
I have been after this film for ages and managed to get a copy of it in the end. Man what a film! this makes any brit gangster flick thats come out to date look like childs play, not because its very violent but because of the use of non actors ( i have heard they are real gangsters but dont quote me on that) this gives the film a very raw edge that is impossibble to get in actors unless youre Keitel, De niro, etc.
There is also some sentiment in the film showing the director does care for these dodgy blokes and there plight but if you blink you might miss it and also it highlights the two schools of thought when it comes to crime and gangsters. Being quiet and making money or running around like a nutter not making a penny. Violents is bad for business ask any professoinal criminal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Shooters is one of those gems you just stumble across. I picked it up in a second hand shop for £2 and now it's one of the most treasured films in my collection.

Set in Liverpool, and featuring some very shady characters (people who in real life, personally work in the world this film depicts) Shooters manages to deliver a story that gives us a glimpse into the world and workings of your everyday small criminal crew who aspire to bigger and better (criminal) things.

The film opens with an intense scene, and a robbery which goes horribly wrong. What unfolds is a story of... well, actually, what unfolds is the gang - as their lives catch up with them and the gang comes apart at the seams.

The actors all play themselves really (Franny is played by *Fran Bennet, John is played by 'Big' John etc. etc.), and the 'Shooters' criminal cast were strongly involved in the making of this film - basically directing the director; advising him on the story: (''...but that would never happen, you'd do it like this...'') and adlibing the script, which makes for a very real feel. Fans of Shane Meadows' films will know what I mean.

The film is quite short but all the better for it, as you're left wanting more and it's never a chore to watch. I knew nothing about the film when I bought it but I'm glad I did. It's a great piece of British cinema and a scary but compelling glimpse into a world that rubs up alongside our own - at times - rather too closely. There are plenty of morals to be learned from watching it, but at the end of the day the biggest lesson you take away is that you don't have to be a proffesional actor to pull of a great performance. It's worth watching the extras too.

Just remember - this is not the only British film out there called Shooters, so make sure you get the right one.

* A little bit of trivia for you: You may remember seeing on the news a few years back, a man walking down the motorway, bare chested, swinging a samaurai sword about. Police were called (obviously), the carriageways were shut, and the man was grappled to the floor without too much of an incident. This wasn't a scene from a film but real life. That man was Franny Bennet - the person featured on the DVD box, and also the main 'muscle' in the film.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2009
This is an absolutely stunning piece of work. The acting is superb and truely makes this film so watchable. It is pretty 'dark' throughout but it's not just gratuitous violence, it is necessary for the film to work in the way that it does. Give it a try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)