Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
76
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2013
I totally agree with Harry and his review. The photography and soundtrack make this production which I enjoyed on transmission and again on dvd. As a linguist I have no problem with multilingual productions and once location and nationality is established accents are not necessary and can detract and drag a production into comedy "Allo Allo" style. It is always refreshing when an actor breaks from his or her type casting. David Tennant gives a superbly convincing performance. I am now reading the book which I also recommend.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
The build-up to WWII; the frustration of the WWI hero & French diplomat in Poland, Col. Jean Francois Mercier as his information that Germany is gearing up for war is foolishly ignored. The Nazis are planning something and he intends to prove
to the French government the they are testing the ablilty of their tanks to travel the Maginot line through the Black Forest. The film travels between Warsaw, Paris, Czecheslovakia, Germany and the Austrian border. There is the excitement of kidnapping, a love affair, Russian spies and David Tennant. How can it miss? Also starring Janet Montgomery as Anna, The League of Nations lawyer.
I enjoy watching WWII movies. This one is different in that is ends when the "non-aggression" pact begins between Russia and Germany. There is so much suspense, I don't want to ruin it for anyone's enjoyment.
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2016
I'm currently re-reading Alan Furst's novels (all of which I'd thoroughly recommend to any new readers unacquainted with his work) and for some reason I'd been unaware of the original TV dramatization and this DVD. As other viewers have mentioned it's often difficult to compress a complex novel into nigh on three hours screen time but this is a worthy attempt and captures the essence of the original source.. It is quite old fashioned in the filmic style and all the better for it - no unnecessary whizz bang effects just solid performances from all the cast (that much under rated actor Anton Lesser deserves special mention) and a story well told. The steam locomotive warranted a mention in the end credits ! All in all well worth the purchase price and will bear repeat viewings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
An intriguing spy story, first of all. And then there's love, and there's life, and there's history, all portraited by an outstanding DavidTennant. Recommended for those who like a good story before anything else.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Love everything David Tennant is in - a fantastic actor. Love the period setting too - beautifully photographed, picturesque settings. The story is gripping - love everything about this. A terrific DVD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
A most impressive purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
First rate, David Tennant at his very best. Great story and cast.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Gripping
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
Very good film about a little-known incident at the start of the Second World War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
David Tennant proves once again what a great versatile actor he is. The film was really interesting and at the end of the first episode you just had to go on to the second one to find out what happened to the characters.
Spies Of Warsaw was set in the period (about two years) before the Second World War started right up to when war was declared. It is about spies from France, Poland, Russia & Germany and how they tried to find out what the Gestapo were up to. I don't want to spoil it by saying anymore for people who will watch it - but a great dvd.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)