Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
14
4.5 out of 5 stars
Golden Road
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


on 22 December 2002
I must admit I am a big fan of Aussie Keith Urban since his days with the Ranch and his follow up solo album featuring 'It's A Love Thing', 'Where The Blacktop Ends' and 'But For The Grace of God'. This second album entitled 'Golden Roads' is even better than his first, starting with the Billboard Country Number One 'Somebody Like You' a mix of banjo and guitar producing a fantastic sound to really get your foot tapping which keeps tapping through the second track 'Who Wouldn't Wanna Be Me', featuring great guitar and harmonies. We slow down for the third track 'Whenever I Run' a mid tempo catchy song with a great chorus while 'What About Me' picks up the tempo again with a instantly likeable song and great banjo picking. 'You'll think of Me' is my personal favourite, a really strong ballad combined with an excellent production which is also true for the sixth track a remix of the 70's classic 'Jeans On'. 'You Look Good In My Shirt' is a catchy number showing off Keith's vocal talents together with some great guitar playing. We slow down again for 'You're Not Alone Again Tonight' another powerful ballad. Back to the Banjo and Guitar rifts again for 'You Won' a Rock Country style number, followed by 'Song For Dad' slowing the whole thing down once again before the last two tracks 'Raining On Sunday' a laid back lazy feel and 'You're Not My God' the least favourite as far as I am concerned. This is a great album which has moved Keith Urban into the category of serious contender for one of Country's Greatest Stars. The Production on the Album is first rate and really shows off Keith's talents.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
briiliant album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2004
If you like your country music with a real rock edge to it, you will be hard pressed to find anyone better than Keith Urban. Golden Road showcases Keith's considerable guitar playing skills and talents as a gifted songwriter.
With everything from wonderful haunting ballads, through to can't keep your feet still, catchy rock numbers, Golden Road has it all.
There's something to suit everyone's taste!
And his good looks can only be a bonus.
Keep your eye on him - Keith Urban is well on the way to becoming a HUGE country rock star of the future. This guy rocks!!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2005
Absolutely love this mans voice and the way that he writes his songs... I will be following his career very closely!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2006
Its a pity that Keith Urban is always going to me more famous for being Mr Nicole Kidman because the New-Zealand born, Australian-reared singer-songwriter-guitarist is a star in his own right.

Granted his blend of country rock and pop will not earn him any plaudits with the "alt-country" brigade but its great music.

Last year, he played the Olympia in Dublin (its a nice old intimate theatre) and I was unable to go.

The local "paper of record" The Irish Times blasted Urban's performance but they would, wouldnt they.

Urban is never going to be a critics favourite, but he sings well and he plays a beautiful sunburst telecaster and he makes it talk and thats good enough for me.

Theres not much point in buying this album as his next album "These are the days" is has the best songs from "Golden Road" on it.

But I got it first.

His live DVD is pretty good too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
This album was my introduction to Keith Urban. I saw the video of the single, Somebody Like You, on CMTV while on holiday in US. Bought this album on my return to Ireland. Truly magnificent. One of the finest country albums of the last 20 years. My 3rd copy (the other 2 got played done) is always in the car. Never travel without it.
This is Keith's best album by a mile though all his albums have a lot of great tracks on them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Same excellent standard as his other albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
another good album from Keith Urban!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
good cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)