Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
21


on 15 January 2015
It will take months to play all these!
Classical 'old-school' jazz. I know a few names but almost all of these tracks I've never heard before, it's an interesting eye-opener.

Great background music to work with in my studio, most of the CD's have played so far have a 'mellow' vibe, definitely have an old/classic sound - but can't comment on all, I still have hours of discs to go!

A few discs might not be to everyone's taste - there is a broad mix here - but an open door for an open mind.
Great value. Great music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2014
A very good mixed jazz box set, worth every penny, I found a few people I had not heard before which is always a good thing to broaden my further understanding of the jazz scene away from the well known artists.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2014
This is a great value box set of 20 CDs for a very low price. Stiff cardboard box containing card sleeves depicting the original 10" LP covers, together with a booklet detailing all the artistes appearing on the CDs. Generally, excellent quality recordings for a bargain price. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2014
This is a superb set at unbelievable value for money. Extremely well packaged. Informative booklet. Great music, much of it hard to come by and/or long out of print. Good sound quality. It is a thing of rare beauty!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2015
Haven't been able to play every CD in the collection yet but I have been impressed so far by the recording quality. Great selection though and fantastic value for money if you like jazz.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2014
No words for the great deepness of sound and perfection work.
Compilation presentation is great but the music is really out of this world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2015
excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2013
JAZZ on DISQUES VOGUE (Sony) 20 CD Box Set

A superb collection of 35 (mainly) original 10" albums plus a few 7" EPs, all originally released on either the Swing or Vogue label, and now available again thanks to this wonderful Sony Legacy/Vogue Box.

The original artwork is attractive, and all 20 CDs have very sturdy cardboard sleeves. The actual design (and size) of the box itself is also very cool. There is also an informative and colourful booklet included.

The music is vintage quality Jazz, presented in fine style and at a very competitive price.

I have heard all the CDs (mostly all Mono) a few times now and they have been well mastered, sounding even better than I could have expected, especially considering the first 3CDs were recorded in the late 1940s. The other 17CDs are all dated early 1950s.

Listening to this I am beginning to appreciate more and more the pleasure of listening to 1950s Jazz in Mono!

It's encouraging to know Sony/Legacy are paying attention to some of the vast treasure trove of (currently) unavailable Jazz originally issued way back in the 1940s & early 1950s.

This box is the bees knees, and no Jazz lover interested in music from this period can afford to miss it!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2014
Anybody who started their record buying career in Britain in the days of EPs and 10" LPs will have a soft spot for labels like Esquire, Melodisc...and Vogue, who served us jazz fans far better than the big four.

Perhaps it is the warm glow of nostalgia, or increasing tolerance with age, that it doesn't seem so incongruous to see Sidney Bechet rubbing shoulders with Monk and Lionel Hampton and Mezz Mezzrow with Bobby Jaspar in the same sturdy 20CD box. Jimmy Raney, Milt Jackson, Roy Eldridge and Bob Brookmeyer are among my favourite musicians, who , despite their different styles, lived and breathed jazz.

I have very few reservations: the main one may seem paltry. The Gerry Mulligan Quartet (with Bob Brookmeyer) disc runs for only 37 minutes 40 seconds. The following volume, Theolonious Monk, solo, both from 1954, runs for 31 minutes 35 seconds. Both these sessions could have fitted on to one disc. There were other tracks recorded by Mulligan in Paris in the opening days of June 1954 at that same concert, but to be fair, the entire session has been reissued many times of many labels and is easily obtainable.

I would have liked to see these sessions coupled on one CD to have had the "extra" CD taken up with the sessions Frank Rosolino and Zoot Zims recorded in Paris while on tour with the great Stan Kenton Orchestra in September 1953 and there was a great quartet session by Frank Foster which could also have been accomodated (both appeared on the British "Vogue double" series of LPs in a compilation called "Four 4 Sax" in 1978).

Also, couldn't room have been found for at least one of the two takes of the magnificent "Brown Skins" - a variation on "Cherokee" recorded (in the utmost secrecy) by a large band led by Clifford Brown, when he was playing truant from the Lionel Hampton Band in 1953, and Clifford had to be smuggled out of his hotel room because Hamp's dictatorial wife Gladys had forbidden any of the band making recordings while touring.

These records sum up a time and a place and the thought of Brownie and his trumpet sneaking down the fire escape of his Paris hotel is perhaps the most romantic of the lot, and Brown Skins will always reman one of the supreme masterpiece of the catalogue.

These carping critisisms aside, the set is worth every penny: most of the CDs have the familiar dark red, white and black Vogue labels we knew so well, a few have the toffee brown "Swing" label. Each CD is contained in an extremely strong cardboard cover, rather like the Japanese Blue Note and Prestige issues from King. All sleeve notes are in French. The booklet could perhaps have painted a rather better picture of some of the sessions, butt they are factual if brief.

The only thing that saddens me is that these projects are always one-offs, and though there wouldn't be enough material for another 20 volume set, so much is missing, that a smaller box could (but probably won't) be commissioned. How about "The Herdsmen Visit Paris", or Jay Cameron's International Sax Group (January 1st 1955), as well as the Foster and Rosolino/Sims sessions and.how about Kenny Clarke with Jimmy Deuchar.... but what's done is done. Let's be grateful for what there is: I have heard the Henri Renaud sessions from March 7 1954 many times, but until this weekend I had never heard the track where Milt Jackson sings and plays piano on Harry Warren's "The More I See You", and there are a few other tracks I have never heard.

This set will sit next to that wonderful collection of "The Complete Saturne Picture Discs" (Paris Jazz Corner Productions PJC 222008), - recorded in 1951 and issued over a decade ago which featured Henri Renaud (with highly evocative sleeve notes by M. Renaud ) leading a band including Sandy Mosse, Bobby Jaspar and Jimmy Gourley. Jimmy Gourley (1926-2008) was a fine guitarist in the Raney mould who enlivened many a session including the cerebral Lee Konitz one included in this Vogue box, and some of the Clifford Brown/Gigi Gryce tracks here. He was a great favourite of mine and deserved to be better known. Towards the end of his life he had his own label "Elabeth" and it's few issues are worth hunting down.One even included Stan Getz guesting (masquerading as "Dju Berry")- thats how good he was, Stan wouldnt have wasted time with just anybody in the 1980s.

My advice is to buy this set if you have any interest at all in jazz from the late 40s to the mid-fifties before it gets deleted and will cost a months wages to buy secondhand
22 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2014
This is a "nice to have" box set at a very reasonable price which contains some real gems. But it does have its shortcomings which some other reviews have mentioned. I would add that it was very disappointing that there are no tracks by Lucky Thompson although he had made some excellent recordings for the Swing and Vogue labels. As has been said, a number of the cds are quite short, the worst example is the Lalo Schifrin which contains one 10 inch LP and is musically a real dud. Nevertheless the musical positives well outweigh the negatives and the neat packaging with original artworks evokes a nostalgia for this interesting time and place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)