Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
56
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£9.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2013
If you are visiting Southern Africa then you will need this book. The birds are different to European birds so you nedd a book anyway, and there are subtle differences between some of the birds which this book explains.

The book is recommended in Southern Africa and sold out there at a price which far exceeds the price on Amazon UK.

Needless to say, the delivery service from the Amazon partner was excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
The right product, delivered with no delay. As usual, I am more than satisfied from Amazon. Nothing more to expect.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
I've got an older photo field-guide by Ian Sinclair but this book is far better. As usual the species drawings and distribution maps are excellent and the descriptions first class. Don't leave home without this in your day sac - unless you're already an expert in the regions birds!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Bought for a Uni trip to South Africa, this book helped me to identify 74 species! It's not the lightest book and is pretty thick so not a good pocket guide but covers so much more and therefore helps to accurately identify species. My only wish is that it had photographs instead of drawings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
Have had this book around our family growing up in Zimbabwe, and travelling South Africa, and it has been a lot of fun trying to ID the birds around us. Not sure if there is another book of this calibre covering this area out there!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
Easy to use in the field and light to carry. Difficult to chose between the modern guides for Southern Africa but anyone getting this edition will not be disappointed - but beware the alternative Sasol edition costing more and which is heavier to carry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Bought this prior to safari holiday after reading previous reviews. Would recommend to anyone, clear & easy to use, lovely pictures & an essential but of kit. Would not go without it in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
We will soon be going to South Africa on holiday and as bird watching will be the main theme this book ticks every box.
The colour drawings and descriptive maps are just what we are looking for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
Excellent - the definitive guide for Southern Africa. Easy to use - compact enough in the field but with sufficient detail to be used with accuracy. The illustrations are high quality too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
As I stated it is a good book and I have seen the benefits of owning it from others who have it on their tablets but as yet I have still to use the kinle book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse