Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
13
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 25 August 2013
If you're a summertime action junkie who prefers sunshine and blue skies as a backdrop to explosions and gunfire and if you are growing tired of sci-fi orientated Anime then Black Lagoon is definitely for you. It's an unusual series, but worth the time if you stick with it.

"Rock" is a lowly salaryman at a Japanese corporation. His bosses are crooks and consider him expendable when he is captured and held hostage by the Black Lagoon shipping company. Enraged at the indignation, Rock decides to join the squad, much to the chagrin of Revy - the muscle.

Revy herself is a very tough character, literally and figuratively. We learn very little about her other than that she craves the joy of battle, is in a permanent state of rage and anger, and that she really wears those cut-off jeans well. She and Rock frequently clash, giving their relationship a cold, hard edge. The leader of the squad is Dutch, an enormous African-American, and Benny, the Hawaiian shirt wearing techie, who respect Rock more than their female colleague.

Episodes range between a 1, 2, or 3 episode story arc, which means that if you are unsatisfied by one episodes conclusion its best to go straight to the next one. It often feels awkward when the end credits all-of-a-sudden begin to roll, to that very depressing music. I like the show a lot but the downbeat end credits always finish on a rather nihilistic note, it's not really the best choice. There's an abruptness to the show with leaves a certain amount of dissatisfaction. Revy is an intriguing character but her arc, in the first season at least, leaves a lot unanswered.

The Blu-ray looks wonderful, with the blues and green color of the South China Sea bursting off the screen in 1.78:1 1080p. The sound is in very good PCM 2.0. There are absolutely ZERO extras, sadly. Sometimes the box comes with a slipcase, sometimes it does not.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
....this BD not only contains the English Dub/Sub but also: German, French, Italian and Spanish (Dub and Sub). It is identical to the Releases in those countries (also published by Kazé). If you consider buying this you should buy the UK Version because it is the cheapest Version.

The BD it self has a good quality. The sound is only 2.0 but thats normal for Anime.

The Anime it self is about a group of modern pirates in Black Lagoon who do their daily job (which normally ends pretty bloody). It is fun: The animations are great (its from Madhouse), the action is fun and the characters are superp.

All in all a good release although it isn't cheap (because it is published by Kazé)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
One of the best adult animes to come out of Japan. We join Rock and the crew of the black lagoon in the seas of south east asia as they go from day to day dealing with every thing the seedy underworld of Roannapur. I already have this on DVD so when they released it on Blu-ray I just had to get it and was not dissappionted the colours and the clarity are much better than the DVD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
All fans of Anime need to check this out. This has been on my radar for a very long time and after watching it... I'll just say this it's up there with Gurren Lagann and Kill la Kill it might even be better than them. Just watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Black Lagoon is anime for grown ups.
Just love the series. Good stories and tough characters.
Sadly there are no bonus features.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2012
Black Lagoon is one of the best anime's I've seen this year and certainly my favourite. Usually I wouldn't be into an anime which lacked a strong story but this is one of the anime's that's an exception. Being a Madhouse production Black Lagoon has amazingly smooth fluid like animation and brilliantly intense action sequences which could challenge the excitement of some of Hollywood's greatest shootout's. Visually speaking, as an anime only the big feature releases such as the rebuilds of Evangelion are above it.
The characters are also great, even though they aren't that original. A great dub really makes them stand out from the rest. Revy's voice greatly goes with her borderline psychotic demeanour and Dutch's voice is a breath of fresh air from the usual ghetto black guy stereotype and actually sound intelligent as his character is.

Something I really didn't like was the lack of story. Even though the characters and action are enough to carry it, I couldn't help thinking a well written story would have propelled it well into my top 5 anime's of all time. Also as a person who likes a few extras on a disc I wasn't happy with this release. Black Lagoon complete season 1 contains absolutely nothing but episode 1-12 and both the English 5.1 and Japanese 2.0 audio with subtitles option.

Overall it's a great anime for those who love action, but if your looking for a great story there's not really one to be found. The characters are great thanks to being well written and given a great dub, and the animation is top notch. Definitly one of Madhouse Studios best.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
All typical bad habits a woman should avoid, our hero Remi are doing: shooting, swearing, smoking,fighting and bad temper. Gotta Luv it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
This is anime which i can watch again and again, i would recommend it to anyone looking to see something other then robots and vampires
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
another welcomed xmas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
it was fantasticcccc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here