Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 3 July 2012
This fine programme, partly paid for by TV licence fee payers, is labelled by Amazon wrongly as PAL. Although PAL technically is an analogue TV system the important point here is that it's 50 Hertz - which is the field frequency of the UK TV system.
This DVD, apparently at Gary Barlow's insistence for some obscure reason, is at 60 Hertz. This means that DVD players that can cope (mine can't) and computers will not display it as well as they would had it been 50Hz.
To their merit Amazon did replace it, but with exactly the same version!
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2013
Loved watching this. So intrigued with how Gary Barlow managed to get snippets from the various participants -miles apart- and then place them producing such a wonderful song. Technology is such a wonderful thing, but only an extremely skilled musician could do it.I admire Gary Barlow's dedication and determination to produce a song suitable for the Queen. He succeeded along with Andrew Lloyd Webber.
I enjoyed the voyage he went on. Showing people and places never seen before. The expressions on the faces of the participants was a "Joy to Behold" What a joy to have "The Military Wives" and their excellent conductor Gary Malone included.
An all round excellent production.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2016
This was lovely to see as Gary Barlow meets such talented musicians and lovely characters , including some who weren't on the final track (I think).
The song was so skilfully put together sometimes on the spot so that he was able to show the performers how their part would be put in the song. A lovely film, I think it is longer and in more depth than the one shown on television.
Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2012
This is a wonderful DVD showing an ingenious way of producing a very special song for Her Magesty the Queen
on the occasion of the Diamond Jubilee of her Coronation. Gary Barlow travelled round some of the Commonwealth
countries to include music made by various people of the Commonwealth. The song is just simply called 'Sing'
and was performed for the Queen at the concert outside Buckinhgham Palace Monday June 4th 2012.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2013
I loved this really humble and heart-warming DVD. It was great to see how well Gary and Andrew worked together, as well as following Gary's inspring journey to collect a wide range of music from around the world. The final song was very cleverly put together and is well worth a listen following this story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2017
loved this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2013
Loved this DVD because it was such a humble approach to the making of a beautiful piece of work for the Queen. Gary and Sir Andrew worked so well together, it was a delight to watch. The final version of the song encompassed a wide range of music and sounds that were all cleverly put together. If you only watch it once in your life, you will be enriched
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2014
i love this DVD it overwhelming how people from all over the world can come together in a common cause. it restores your hope in humanity. the song comes out amazing. it is a musical cocktail i would recomend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2016
Got for my daughter loves Gary N I do
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2012
I first watched this programme on TV at the time of the Queen's
Jubilee Celebration period.

This is why I bought the DVD, a great tour around the Commonwealth, this DVD is well worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse