Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
105
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 September 2012
My first introduction to The Vaccines from West London and labelled 'Indie' or 'Alternative' which covers a wide range of modern genres but for a tighter classification on the strength of this album I would say 'melodic pop rock' with a teaspoonful of 'Ramone Punk' stirred in. For a band that has been going for only 2 years their progression and maturity as a cohesive musical force is, indeed impressive with extensive tours with the likes of The Stone Roses, Arctic Monkeys, and The Walkmen together with the release of 2 albums, "Come Of Age" being the second.

The general theme of their work does not exude too much happiness or optimism in the lyrics but is scored, vocalised and played with a lightness of touch and an always present 'chug-a-long' rhythmic drive.

Stand-outs? Not an inferior track in sight but mainly good, strong offerings such as "No Hope", "Teenage Icons", "I Always Knew", "Aftershave Ocean", and "Change Of Heart" with joint personal favorites "Wierdo", and "Lonely World".

A really good second album and if their progression over the next few years is as outstanding as their first two years then The Vaccines will be a force to be reckoned with on the global music stage.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
I thought the first album was quite good, with it's upbeat tunes masking the fact that Justin isn't the greatest lyricist in the world. It was easily one of my favourite debut albums for a couple of years.

However this album is rather poor. The Vaccines certainly have seemed to 'come of age' however their rather more immature sound in what did you expect managed to hide the fact they are not really very good musicians. The more mature sound is ruined by the fact that the lyrics are so poor. They have written songs with riffs but no tunes. It just seems very indulgent.

I always felt with the vaccines that they have chosen a sound that will make them successful but not a sound they enjoy. I think the music suffers because of this.

All in vain and aftershave ocean is a bright point in an otherwise disappointing album. It's not bad, just nowhere near as good as it could and perhaps should be considering their fame at the moment.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
For the first album I made comparisons. The Vaccines are like XYZ. Now The Vaccines are Just the Vaccines. I think in 10 or even 20 years time, people will be saying "I think they might have been influenced by The Vaccines". I could compare the lyrics but I wont they are brilliant and original. I could compare the sound..They seem to have found a sound no one has had before. Its almost like friends who formed a band became lovers and gave birth to a child of Genius. Enjoy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
If, like me, you're new to The Vaccines then this album is an excellent place to start. Not only do you have the extended version of Come of Age (which is a fantastic piece of songwriting), you also have a live show featuring a lot of songs of What Did You Expect from The Vaccines - so all in all this is a great introduction to this exciting band.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 May 2015
I went out and bought The Vaccines' second album immediately after hearing the bouncy hit single 'Teenage Icon', and as is quite often the case, the song you want, as good as it is, is far from the best track. 'Come Of Age' is filled with some really upbeat stuff, and despite not quite on the same level on a whole as it's ear-catching predecessor What Did You Expect From The Vaccines?, you can hear how the band have matured, and this is a good, up-tempo album, with cleverly written tunes and catchy guitar work.

Addictive highlights for me include 'No Hope', 'All in Vain', the rather emotional 'Weirdo', and 'Lonely World', which is an oddity for this album really, as it is consistently relatively slow and mellow in if's style, but what a beautiful track, with it's meaningful words, and can often help to almost send me to sleep.

Engaging indie-rock music to help you through the day, buy 'Come Of Age', and I'm sure you'll become an instant fan of The Vaccines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Where to start? This one's a tricky review. I absolutely loved their debut album and this follow up was highly anticipated but when they streamed it in full before the release date i was so shocked at the change in vocal style (that affected "warble" Justin had acquired) that i decided not to buy it at the time.
Having now obtained this "deluxe" version, particularly to hear the Live CD, I'm still unsure as to whether I actually like it or not?
Firstly the main CD. It's improved with persistent plays and there are some great tracks especially "No hope" (but still spoiled by the warble) & "Teenage icon". It's much twangier (guitar wise) than the debut e.g on "ghost town" & "weirdo" but is let down by some very average tracks, in fact from track 10 "i wish i was a girl" right through to the end of the album!
The Live CD is also pretty hit & miss but just about justifies the purchase price as you do get two tracks not on either CD i.e "tiger blood" and " why should i love you" although to be honest neither are brilliant. It's nice to hear tracks from the debut album in a live setting but again the new vocal style (I presume he's doing it on purpose?) almost puts a damper on it for me.
You do get a nice photo album style sleeve with numerous photos of the band, but the between song banter with the crowd is limited and i don't know why they felt they needed to let us have to listen to the 4 minute interval (mostly silence) between the end of the show and before the encore?
An interesting audio experience and although I still love 'em i did "expect more from The Vaccines".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
The Vaccines have done nothing but excel themselves with this album. A 2nd Album after such a successful first is always going to be difficult: just ask The Stone Roses or the Arctic Monkeys. In sound, this album differs drastically, the feel considerably more refined and varied than its bouyant predecessor. Likewise, its pace is in contrast to the first album, with the songs averaging over the 3 minute mark (in comparison to around 2 minutes previously).

These changes not only allow the band to mature, but, unlike most maturing bands, it sounds good for once. Granted, experimental pieces such as 'Weirdo', with its wild west intro, are simply a platform to future tracks; but the brilliance of "All in Vain" and the hit "Teenage Icon" create such ever-lasting enjoyment (as provoked in the previous album also) and give so much prospect to this potentially world-class band on the rise.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
This starts off with The Vaccines sounding very much as you'd expect,onto slower stuff then quickens the pace again.
Most fans of their first album might well expect more fast songs than what you get on here,but the slower songs will no doubt be growers in next to no time.
This slower approach i do see as a brave idea,with the fast tracks coming often enough to have things well balanced.
Most of what is on here is what i would expect from this band with a few tracks showing them trying out other ideas,to which i give the thumbs up.

I did decide to go for the deluxe edition of this and i would say the bonus tracks and the bonus live cd are well worth the several quid extra,great sounding gig with songs from both albums,even the cheering for an encore in included giving that real live feeling,as it was kind of thing.
So from first few listens i'd say i really like it,if slightly surpised by the amount of slower tracks. But the way i see it,the fisrt album had slower tracks which soon became loved,so surely these will too.
surprised? yes,disappointed? no,happy? oh yes!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2012
I absolutely love The Vaccines, I think they are one of those bands who not only sound brilliant on record but sound even better live. I was so anxious to see what they were going to pull out of the bag with this album and listening to the album I think they have excelled themselves as a band. It's easy to say its not like the first album and thats because it isn't their debut,they have matured, all bands have to evolve and I think the lyrics and the melodies are so much better on this album compared to their debut. If you buy this album I don't think you'll be disappointed, I think the Vaccines have stepped up to the mark and created an amazing album with catchy songs but something different from the first album and it is easy after success to lose your way as a band and feel pressure to try and match that success and not quite make the cut but I think they delivered. Can't wait to hear them play these songs live in November!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2012
Don't get me wrong, I loved The Vaccines 1st album and I was really looking forward to listening to this. After listening to it several times I just didn't 'get it' I can't say any of the tracks are memorable. Think the cd may end up gathering dust in the cd cabinet.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)