Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Superb DVD so far 2hrs of great background info, Political intervention and narrow minded Politicians who were just so pathetically stupid, instead of realising that this guy had no dam axe to grind and was helping them expose the apartheid regime, and they got it all wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
Excellent CD. Could sit and listen to it for hours. Even down-loaded it into y car's system.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
Creme de la creme
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
We were living in South Africa at the time of this recording and the sounds are very reminiscent of the time and place.
It is probably one of those 'you had to be there' tmies. However, fans S&G should love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
The package is great - beautifully presented, great DVD with docs and music videos - all of that is great.

So why remaster the album?... Again. Its not an improvement on the previous CD release. In fact it doesn't sound as good - just louder and harsher. As a recording artist myself, I am aware of the benefits of "cleaning" up older recordings and making use of newer technology to achieve a more transparent sound. This isn't the case here, though. My CD of Graceland from a few years back sounds much better - there is more depth to the production - more detail. The new version sounds very "tense" and too lou, - I guess to satisfy audiences listening on equipment with no bass and top end where older recordings can sound a bit dull and under energized. Its a shame.

However, the package is worth the money for the DVD and the unreleased tracks. I'll just stick with my previous CD for listening to the album.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 June 2012
Graceland was the first ever album I bought (on tape actually), my first ever single is far more embarrassing. As a teenager I had never heard this type of music before and it led me on to many other things and gave me an awareness of Apartheid and its ugly forms. I have never bought this on CD until now and this package is an absolute must for me and anyone who has an interest in this album.

The package consists of the original CD (remastered and to these ears to good effect). On this CD are the bonus tracks including demo's, which are at times quite different to the final versions. The producers certainly did a lot to put this album together. There is a booklet that has a brief overview from the man himself and another essay on the album. The album itself is as good as it was. Lyrically evocative it contains so many great moments. Its a landmark album for so many reasons (of which more later) but the music itself is central to that and listening to it now it truly is a five star album.

The final part of this package is a DVD with the recently released Under African Skies documentary. This covers the whole creation and legacy of the album and the 25th anniversary reunion. It also contains the music video's various documentaries and also a few interviews (Ray Phiri's is the highlight here as his story is brief but moving). But the documentary is the the main event on the DVD. It shows the whole story and the aftermath and it throws light on the struggles and how this album caused as much trouble as it raised awareness. At times moving this really is a brilliant insight and worth the money alone. It shows Apartheid and the cultural boycott and the issues in making and touring this album.

This is a great package of an album which was huge at the time in so many ways. The DVD and CD really do it justice and its a powerful memorial of landmark album.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Ordered this as it was described as being brand new. Was very dissapointed on opening it to find it had obviously been opened and used. The plastic sleeve was cut open, the inner sleeve has 2 tears in it, the record itself has some scrape damage on it, finger marks and scratches. Very dissapointed.
review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Lovely to have the DVD as well as the music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Take a walk down Memory Lane.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)