Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
37
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2013
There are a few good songs on here that are in their infancy and I'm sure would have made it onto Nick's next album if he had lived on further.
The rest for me seemed less special and boring compared to Nick's album works and what is on the "Made to love magic" CD.
I prefer to celebrate all of Nicks works but alas not on this "Family Tree" album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
Family Tree by Nick Drake is a collection of bootleg recordings done at home by Nick Drake and his family. Mostly it's Nick himself who sings solo pieces and we get many examples of his excellent guitar picking. Many early versions of later famous songs are seen for the first time here, like Way to Blue and Day is done.

Something to note is that they've used a kind of cross fading technique when changing between the songs, so there's not one silent moment. It's definitely the surge of new material from this artist that has made the publishers release this CD. I'm not sure if Drake himself would say yes to release this. but it sure is a delight to listen to. I hope Nick Drake's legacy can be maintained for many years to come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
If your a fan, then this is well worthwhile, otherwise, other than either curiosity or you don't own anything by him, leave it alone. Yes it is interesting and hearing him in something other than a recording studio is so sad and beautiful as a lover of him, it can be hard to take.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 December 2015
This is an interesting collection of early cuts of Nick Drakes music, as he was developing his skills. It also includes some of his mothers work.

It was nice to experience some of his early work but at the same time it's not nearly as good as the quality of his studio albums (of course).

I'd say it's a nice collection to get for those of who us who loved Nicks work but I wouldn't call it an essential for the more casual listener.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
If you are a Nick Drake fan, you must have this generous 27 track CD in your library. This is a delightful collection of early home demos by Nick Drake which includes 2 songs performed by his mother Molly and one performed Nick and his sister Gabrielle. As they are home demos recorded on 60s equipment, the sound quality is very good for home demos, but not modern studio quality, however, this doesn't affect the enjoyment of this CD. The songs are mainly covers which Nick was performing quite brilliantly at the time and there are early versions of "Day Is Done" and "Way To Blue" which are just fantastic. As well as all this, we are treated to very informative sleeve notes by those close to him. I love this album already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
HI THERE,I HAVE TO GIVE THIS BEAUTIFUL COLLECTION 5 STARS BECAUSE IT DELIVERS ON WHAT IT SETS OUT TO DO, TO GIVE A LOVELY VARIED ASSORTMENT OF SONGS FROM EARLY LITTLE DABBLES TO CERTAIN TRACKS WHICH COULD HAVE EASILY GRACED A NICK DRAKE ORIGINAL ALBUM..
ONCE AGAIN I MUST SAY THIS COLLECTION OF SONGS ENTITLED "FAMILY TREE" HAS BEEN DONE WITH LOVE AND CARE, WHICH IN ITSELF MAKES THE TITLE WORTHY..PLEASE ENJOY IT AND ADD IT TO YOUR LIBRARY FOR A MORE COMPLETE STORY OF NICK DRAKE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
I thought I owned everything by Nick Drake until I came across this gem. The track by Nick's mother was quite haunting with echoes of Nick's own voice. It did however leave me with a feeling of great sadness for the premature death of such a great talent, a feeling amplified by his sister's letter to her late brother.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
In his lifetime Nick Drake meant nothing but by the 80s all that began to change when the Dream Academy made Life In A Northern Town which was dedicated to the deceased singer.
Drake emerged at the same time as Claire Hamill and was unknown to me and everyone else it would seem except perhaps John Peel.
It was hardly a surprise re Drake's low standing at the end of the 60s as this was the time of psychedelia and Drake was more to do with singer songwriter folk influenced and low key music not played on the radio
A man who refused to do personal appearances could have sunk without trace and through the 70s he did just that.His early death turned him into a Cult Artist especially in America exactly as with Eva Cassidy.
Today people claim him as a Genius and though I would never go that far I find it quite impressive how every last inch of his music is now being marketed not to the masses but to fans.
Such as those who'd buy this CD or his mother Molly Drake or the Tribute albums
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Be aware Amazon are having problems to Autorip Nick Drake's stuff, just scroll down to the mp3 download option and you'll see an error will pop up. So if you are buying this to hear it in your iPod/iPhone, I suggest to avoid it and buy it elsewhere cheaper in the marketplace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2009
I have recently purchased Family Tree which was put together by Nick Drakes sister Gabrielle. It reminded me what a different sound he tried to create and what an innovative artist he was. I did go on to buy Pink Moon and Five Leaves Left which i also loved
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)