Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
73
4.1 out of 5 stars
Doctor Who - Vengeance on Varos (Special Edition) [DVD] [1985]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 June 2016
Thank you, great story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
I have been waiting for Vengeance on Varos to come out all summer, and I certainly wasnt disapointed, first of all i love the artwork on the DVD, Colin looking very dramatic and important, its a piece of art in itself, the quality of the restoration is very good, i compared it to Vengeance on Varos on Virgin on demand, and it looked like in comparison it looks almost Blu-ray quality. The special features which was one of the main reasons I brought this DVD are fabulous, with the second disc full of documentries about the making of, television within Dr Who, and on the medias reaction to the glorious and often underated Sixth incarnation. My only problem with this DVD, is that the extras are abesent of Colin Baker and Nicola Bryant, there not in any of the documentries, and the commentry is from the original release in 2001, and is a bit dated (references to Tony Blair and the sadly missed JNT) would of been nice if they could of been part of this new release, but overall, a fantastic buy, and well worth it for fans, and a good introduction story for new classic series viewers, with a powerful peformance from the wonderful and charming Colin Baker.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
One of great classic episodes , dark undertones and an excellent villian
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
Okay, so poor old Colin Baker has taken some harsh criticism for his portrayl of the Doctor over the years but I'm sticking up for him as I think he done a great job in his sadly shortlived term. His outfit does resemble some kind of sickly fruit desert but his take on the Dr is a bold, brave and confident one and his performance in this dark little tale makes it one of the best! I say dark and I mean dark, the story reminded me of Orwell's 1984 and the slimy villian Sil remains one of the best villians ever and has been sadly underused since ( only making one more appearance in Baker's underated swansong The Trial of a Time Lord). The underground settings are suitably dark and grim and there is a real sense of danger here throughout that holds it's own from beggining to end.
It's up there with The Caves of Androzani as one of the best from the 80's and a must see for any Who fan.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2003
Colin Baker was indeed the most underestimated Dr Who of the lot. In this I find him sharp and incredibly similar in character to Pat Troughtons Who of the 60's. This particular story is one of the best releases available on DVD. Nabil Shaban as Sil is an incredible foe, greedy, conniving and materially obsessed. Very 80's. In fact Sil is the Alien personfication of Thatcherism. This makes me wonder if the writers of this were having a "pop" at Maggie! Leaving politics out of this though this is damn fine entertaiment. The makeup for Sil is brilliant for the BBC budget. Peri deserves a mention, WOW ignore the acting what a nice bod! definately aimed at the Dads. Buy it and enjoy, you won't regret.
My star rating*********!
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2016
Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
My husband loved it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2003
If this story is overrated (and it is) that is probably more indicative of the weakness of the surrounding stories. Colin Baker's Doctor (entirely UNLIKE Patrick Troughton) is just plain unliveable and the story suffers because of this.
The ideas behind the script are pretty thought provoking (even more so today in the era of digital TV) but something went wring in the translation to the TV screen. Like a lot of the stories of this time, you reflect more on the missed opportunities that anything taking place on screen.
99 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Actually much better seeing this many years later. Did not recalling thinking much of this when I saw it originally but has aged remarkably well. Certainly worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse