Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
30
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 April 2011
OK, so it's not unreasonable to enter into a Doris Day romantic comedy expecting undemanding froth and a little sexiness. With that, Do Not Disturb delivers on that expectation. Day's line in this type of film caters for like minded people knowing exactly what they want from a Sunday morning time filler. The trouble is, is that where's the cut off point to say no more please? This film is arguably the one where Day fans {and I count myself among them} finally realised the formula had run its course. Yes the enjoyable fluff that was The Glass Bottom Boat would follow a year later, but that too has a familiarity, that whilst not breeding contempt, certainly felt like being stuck on a carousel.

The plot here is naturally simple, but sadly so is Richard L. Breen's screenplay {adapting from William Fairchild's play}. Thankfully Day at least manages to make the thread bare script work to a degree, and although no Rock Hudson, Rod Taylor does make for an appealing foil to Day's sexy effervescent efforts. Hermione Baddeley shines brightest out of the supporting cast and the funky opening credits are accompanied by Day's delightful rendition of the title tune. Enter with caution then, for even the hardiest of Doris Day fans must know this is but a time filler in all but name. 5/10
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
I know a lot of people think this is not her best period (especially as I think she didn't want to do these type of scripts) but I grew up watching these sort of movies with my family and love the whimsical and quirky humour that looks at the lighter side of life in a farce like way.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
This DVD was bought for my Mother as a present and so I can't really comment on it in detail. All I know is, she has watched it over and over. If you are a Doris Day fan, then I am sure you will like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
I have previously seen this film a number of times and as a fan of Doris Day and her co-star ordered it to put with my DVD collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
I love Doris Day and her films are very good family films, No swearing or bad scenes, Well worht the money, thankyou
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
i love all doris day films , if you need cheering up these are the best , going to have one happy mother :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 January 2014
This is the standard Doris Day plot and Rod Taylor (Glass Bottom Boat - 1966). The opening credits have an interesting relevant song.

Mike Harper (Rod Taylor) an American has a job as the new head of a wool company in London trying to win a contract. Janet Harper (Doris Day) American, the wife is making a home in the country and learning all things English.

Each suspects the other of hanky-panky. They must maintain their positions. The question is will they ever trust each other? We watch as they banter and position (that is where the comedy comes in.)

It is interesting how this did not make it into many of the collections as it is just as good as many of the other Doris comedies.

The DVD contains the standard extras including a demonstration of the restoration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Excellent film. very enr=tertaining and funny. Good value for money big Doris Day fan. I love old movies and this is definately a favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
This film was hilarious. Doris Day is as great as ever. Loved it. Though the supposedly English countryside and Paris were poor sets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
i really loved this dvd it was well worth the money and was in fab condition and makes a great family film for laughter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)