Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 20 October 2017
One of the greatest and most important rock albums of all time. Every song is sensational and the production is fantastic. Legend has it that 16 of the 24 recording tracks were used for Steve Jones' awesome guitar power chords and there has rarely been a better guitar sound committed to record. Some critics have called it "guitar soup," but what a gloriously tasty soup it is! Captain Sensible of fellow punks The Damned dismissed it as "not being the true sound of punk at the time" and of "sounding like Bad Company," by which he means overproduced, and he's right on both counts strictly speaking. But with a sound this huge and powerful and timeless, who cares??? Jones isn't the only star of the show, although in addition to that thick slab of layered guitars he also played all the bass on the album in place of a hopeless Sid, so he really did the lion's share of the work. Paul Cook's drumming is simple but hard hitting and right on the money. It's truly hard to believe that he and Jones had only taken up their instruments barely 18 months before they started recording this masterpiece. And of course, Johnny Rotten's vocal delivery is incredible -- sneering, sarcastic, venomous, and dripping with pissed off attitude, and with lyrics that marked the last time rock will ever be truly threatening to the establishment. Quite simply, this album is a must-have for every self-respecting hard rock fan, young and old.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2015
He's a fan of the Pistols, so this gift was perfect. All their CDs, some an informative book about the group, postcards and stickers. He absolutely loved it. It was perfect present. As a whole package it really is great, a sturdy presentation box and it feels significant.. Much better than socks or a jumper!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 July 2013
Practically since the day Punk broke into the general public's collective (un)conscience in this country, idiot music journos have been wittering on about how Punk was "a return to 1950's Rock n' Roll sensibilities (man)", describing it as some kind of a rock "year zero". Total pish! As much as the Clash protested it in `1977', the intervening two decades could NOT be denied!

For starters, if anything was a return to 1950's rock stylings it was PUB rock, not Punk! While the likes of Dr Feelgood and Ducks Deluxe were churning out their (admittedly high energy) take on early rock n' roll and R & B, the Sex Pistols were gestating a far more potent brew altogether and it wasn't being fuelled by Chuck Berry records!

A lot has been written about `proto' Punk and the influence it had on the Pistols and the music of the 1976 generation as a whole. Too true. The Velvets, The Stooges, MC5, Bowie, New York Dolls, Deviants and even Hawkwind all played their part in fuelling the aggression and attitude inherent in this explosive new style. Less is written about the role the likes of the Faces and Mott the Hoople played, but that too cannot be ignored. Then there's Mr Rotten's apparent Peter Hammill fixation. Oh yes indeedy.

All well and good. However, for me, if Punk was truly a return to anything, it was to a mid-60's Beat and Garage vibe. That's where the real fuel for the fire came from. The stripped-down aggression of the Pretty Things, Kinks, Who, Yardbirds, Small Faces, Creation and early Stones (or even the early Beatles to some degree) is far more comparable to Punk than anything from the 50's ever will be. Throw in a handy copy of Lenny Kaye's seminal `Nuggets' compilation of mid-60's American garage classics and the picture is pretty much complete.

I'm not knocking the 50's rockers. I just think that the very `showbiz' inclinations of key Rock n' rollers like Jerry Lee Lewis and Chuck Berry were surely anathema during the nihilistic days of Punk, whereas there was no denying the potency of Pete Townshend ramming his guitar through his speakers! Sure, The Clash later took Bo Diddley on the road with them and got Ray Lowry to do the cover of 'London Calling' up like the first Presley album, but Punk 'proper' was over by then.

Fact is, most of the Punk generation weren't even born in 1956, let alone listening to Elvis! But they *did* grow up listening to 1960's beat on the radio, that's for sure. Witness the rehearsal tapes of the Pistols attempting `Through My Eyes' by the Creation, `Watcha Gonna Do About It' by the Small Faces and `Don't Give Me No Lip Child' by none other than Dave Berry!

I actually find it's very easy to draw parallels between the `main' Punk bands and their mid-60's forebears. Buzzcocks for instance, were clearly Kinks-like. The Clash echo the Stones. The Damned channel the Who's sheer anarchy. The Undertones echo the Small Faces tight sound. The Stranglers have more than a hint of the Zombies. The Jam are clearly Beatles-inspired. The Pistols meanwhile, remind me of the Pretty Things filtered through the Stooges!

Which brings me - finally - to `Never Mind the Wotsits'. Guess what? It's a great album. You don't need me to tell you that. Only two criticisms spring to mind. One - it would've been better with Matlock on bass throughout. Two - the layering of guitars is perhaps a little overdone, pushing the album away from the garage towards chunkier hard rock territory. Of course, Johnny's vocals save the day - as usual.

Buy it, play it to death, then listen to something REALLY worthwhile like `Metal Box' or `The Scream'.

Goodnight kiddies.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2015
The Album that got a generation moving all those years ago and is still as fresh now as it was back then.
Great tracks with a heavy rock beat and a singer who snarled lyrics with meaning. Yes, this was the age of Anarchy and we loved it. Some of us are still anarchic but the music that pollutes the radios these days is not inspiring and doesn't speak. It has no message, it's just X-Factor type "drool". from people who look, sound and probably smell the same.
This was the album of a generation. Noel Gallagher (Oasis) has said that he wishes he had written this. ............Who can blame him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2014
This is a review of the re-mastered version. This is truly a treat for Pistols fans. The instruments finally show some clarity and separation. Jonesy's guitar sounds even more mind-blastingly powerful. This is the best version of the album I have heard. This is how it should be. Listen with headphones and you can really feel the clarity. Finally one can really experience this hard powerful music as it should be experienced. I recommend this re-mastering wholeheartedly. Hello to all the Pistols enthusiasts out there. I hope you are all well. And if not, I hope things get better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2014
embarrassed to admit buying this on CD in middle age.
the funniest thing I ever saw on stage was a very fat SP doing their mid-90s world tour - how much I laughed through all their cult classics.
still stands up 35+ years later, but prefer my crackly vinyl version purchased when bollocks was covered up.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2017
great birthday present
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2014
Just taken prompt delivery of Never Mind; you know the rest. I remember buying it back in 77 and guy in shop asked for my name and address as part of a.general customer survey. It turned out to be something much darker tho quite ridiculous, I'm sure you can work it out.anyway as soon as i had it in my grasp on it went and the mayhem commenced. This album is one of the greatest rock records ever made and sounds as magnificent today as it did all those all those years ago . If I was a GP I'd prescribe it to all my patients.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2015
Apologies for comment stating product had not been delivered! Neighbour had it "safe"ahem.. Anyway a must for anyone interested in the phenomenon that is Punk rock, forget the bollox about Mclaren, Vicious the Swindle etc this is the sound of being young , bored and pissed off with the whole dinosaur Progrock, greysuits running the country, being told you're worth nothing State of play in 76/77,buy it play loud!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2018
Good value double CD. Good service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)