Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 27 September 2017
Classic album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2014
The first time I bought this on vinyl was way back in 1977, I was 14 and I'd saved up the money from my paper round to buy it when it was first released. I had to hide it from my Mother because if she'd have seen the naughty word on the front cover it would have gone straight in the bin, how times have changed. Music wise, it still sounds as good as it did nearly 40 years ago, so crank up the volume and annoy the neighbours
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2017
One of the greatest and most important rock albums of all time. Every song is sensational and the production is fantastic. Legend has it that 16 of the 24 recording tracks were used for Steve Jones' awesome guitar power chords and there has rarely been a better guitar sound committed to record. Some critics have called it "guitar soup," but what a gloriously tasty soup it is! Captain Sensible of fellow punks The Damned dismissed it as "not being the true sound of punk at the time" and of "sounding like Bad Company," by which he means overproduced, and he's right on both counts strictly speaking. But with a sound this huge and powerful and timeless, who cares??? Jones isn't the only star of the show, although in addition to that thick slab of layered guitars he also played all the bass on the album in place of a hopeless Sid, so he really did the lion's share of the work. Paul Cook's drumming is simple but hard hitting and right on the money. It's truly hard to believe that he and Jones had only taken up their instruments barely 18 months before they started recording this masterpiece. And of course, Johnny Rotten's vocal delivery is incredible -- sneering, sarcastic, venomous, and dripping with pissed off attitude, and with lyrics that marked the last time rock will ever be truly threatening to the establishment. Quite simply, this album is a must-have for every self-respecting hard rock fan, young and old.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2016
Very pleased with my purchase, good sound quality on vinyl, had this on CD but I feel you lose a good deal of sound quality on compact disc, has to be heard on Vinyl, added bonus; this is an early pressing - very pleased
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 January 2014
This version, issued by Warners in the USA, was recommended to me as a decent transfer to CD, more like the original vinyl version, however as I've never heard the vinyl I cannot comment on any similarity.
Of the later transfers, Amazon in their wisdom have as usual grouped all reviews together and some reviewers complain of dull/compressed transfers, but it's usually impossible to find out exactly which issue they are complaining about.
So on recommendation I chose this earlier version with the horrible pink cover, like the vinyl. The sound is okish, as no Sex Pistols recordings are brilliant, however if you turn up the volume loud and have a decent sound system it has some bass punch and drive which is a good thing IMHO.
There is a 2012 remaster and I have heard the mp3 samples of it, they sound slightly cleaner or clearer and a tad brighter compared to this early issue.
As far as I know any year of issue from Warners is from the same master tape, so will sound the same and all have the pink cover, they are available for little money in used vgc if you search around a bit.
As is quite usual for me, I make no comments on the music as this is personal, but comment on value for money, sound quality and alternatives.
PS The order of 2 tracks is reversed on this issue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2015
He's a fan of the Pistols, so this gift was perfect. All their CDs, some an informative book about the group, postcards and stickers. He absolutely loved it. It was perfect present. As a whole package it really is great, a sturdy presentation box and it feels significant.. Much better than socks or a jumper!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2013
To say that the original quartet only released one studio album, there are a bewildering array of versions on the market - with Amazon lumping all reviews together no matter which version is being reviewed! This review is for the 2012 DOUBLE CD DELUXE version, which is undoubtedly the best buy.

Why? Well, for starters it's remastered from the original master tapes. The sound is excellent with Rotten and the band blasting out of the speakers, unlike earlier so-called remastered, single CD, versions where everything sounds woolly and tinny. There's also a few studio recorded bonus B-sides that didn't make the original vinyl - 'No Feeling', 'Did You No Wrong', a cover of The Stooges' 'No Fun' and 'Satellite'. They are all brilliant, although 'No Fun' suddenly stops dead right at the end - er, a slight mastering fault?

There's a second CD with a full live concert from Stockholm and a few tracks from Penzance Winter Gardens as well!
Sound quality is of superior bootleg quality for Stockholm whilst it's less good for the three Cornwall tracks. The band are on blistering form for the Swedish concert with Rotten treating the very enthusiastic audience with his usual mock-withering contempt. It's an essential disc, thus making sense of buying this deluxe version even if you've got the original vinyl studio album - which I have!

As for the main studio album, well when it was originally released I was disappointed. I'd already bought all four singles and, like others, had become cynical about McLaren and Virgin's milking of the situation. Additionally, compared to the more left-field contemporaries - Suicide, Wayne County, Pere Ubu etc. - the Pistols seemed a bit 'old hat'; without Rotten's sneering lyrics the sound was essentially one of a beefy rock band. Over the years I've preferred the studio outtakes album, 'Spunk', BUT this deluxe version has made me change my mind - it all sounds so great now, so fresh and new. Yes, I've fallen back in love with it and can now understand what all the original fuss was about!!

Every single original track sounds awesome AND with this version you get a brilliant 24-page booklet. So, don't bother with the single CD, or the outrageous rip-off 4 CD package, get this the 2 CD deluxe version.
22 Comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2017
Wow. Get yer todgers out rock n roll. Girls, improvise
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2017
Very good pressing of a classic album. Love the Pistols!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2017
Never any issues with music magpie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)