Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
49
4.1 out of 5 stars
A Life Within a Day
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


on 1 July 2012
An excellent record not only for any prog fan, but a really good music job !!! The 5.1 version is an ultimate version for High Fidelity listeners...really fine.
Unfortunately the limited edition gatefold LP is a low quality vinyl and it shows some scratches on surfaces...not even the best for a collection item. What a pity...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2012
...This is my Soundtrack for the Summer.

No, of course it's not Voyage of the Acolyte meets Fish Out of Water, as others have rightly implied. Those styles were 37 years ago. More like Hackett's recent albums, with the solid Roger King programming influence - which personally I like, it gives the tracks form. And if you've heard Squire's solo vocal (The Man You Always Wanted Me To Be) - which I thought was a standout track - from last year's Yes album Fly From Here, you'll get the idea.

This is not heavy, intense prog, by any means. It's upbeat, it lifts the spirits. Both Messrs Squire and Hackett have remarried in recent years, so perhaps there is a certain middle-aged contentment that serves as an undercurrent to keep these tracks rocking along most appealingly. And why not? There are Many Sides to the Day.

I've always liked Squire vocals, and Hackett's vocals have improved with age and experience. But it's as if you get three varieties of lead vocal on this album. Each of the latter, plus when they combine (assisted by Steve's sister-in-law on bv's, quite right too) it's like a whole new entity that sounds distinct in its own right - 'Mr Squackett' perhaps.

And let's not forget the utterly delicious lead guitar flourishes of Mr Hackett to add a dash of inventiveness, and the exquisitely seasoned tone of Mr Squire's bass - every note pure quality.

Tasteful booklet design from the meticulous Phil Smee, however I wouldn't have said no to a Roger Dean cover - but that's soon fixed thanks to google and a decent colour printer (whoops).

This is one album review that can definitely conclude with the word... Enjoy.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
I came to this from Steve Hackett and have most of his solo albums. For some reason I had ignored this one until recently. What was I thinking - it's great! There are a few low scores so here's my effort to help any doubters. Firstly it's not highly influenced by Genesis, so don't expect that. As a big fan of their work and solo members this is not a negative. Also I must confess that I'm "lukewarm" to Yes's output. I did buy Going for the One and Tormato on vinyl many years ago, plus a couple of compilation CD's.
Steve has a huge body of solo work, whereas Chris Squire has very little so I don't think it should surprise anybody that a blind listen immediately shows Steve's signature all over this. However this is NOT just another Steve album with Chris as guest. Actually in some ways it's better than that. Steve normally likes to cover and integrate a wide range of musical styles and influences, but here the album is more focused and for me this aspect is a good thing. It all sounds rollicking good fun.
So I guess Chris can be credited with that, likewise his contribution to the lyrics. His playing is top notch of course. The shared and mixed vocals is another positive. The whole thing is more cohesive and thus a rewarding listen to many. Just don't have too many preconceptions, go on give it a listen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2016
Containing some of the last work Chris Squire did before his untimely death, this really is s must for all fans of Yes and Genesis and prog in general. Is it Yes meets Genesis? Yes and no, yes in that you hear Squires signature bass lines and runs and Hackett's beautiful guitar melodies, however at no time throughout playing this album did I think "oh that's Yes" or "that's a Genesis song", it is an album that stands up in its own right. You can tell who was the main writer on what from what is showcased, but that had always been the way, a bass player will tend to start with a bass line, a guitarist will start with a melody or a riff (Queen compositions are the obvious example), and it is great to see how these two giants of prog develope their styles together.

A stand out for me is Squire's Tall Ships, when that bass line kicks in it just gets you moving.

It is not an album that has any particular high, rather it is an album that is a pleasant listening experience in its entirety, never once did i wasn't too skip a track it is consistently good, well worked and craftef music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Definitely NOT a Genesis meets YES production; more sort of two huge rock stars combine their superb song-writing and playing abilities. I have friends who keep telling me that you can tell why Chris Squire is not a 'lead' singer, but I would disagree; his FISH OUT OF WATER album has always been one of my favourites, and here his vocals are strong. Not that Mr Hackett is in any way outdone! Many tracks here sound as though they could have been lifted from any of his many solo albums, such as HIGHLY STRUNG or DEFECTOR, especially the song 'Starchaser'. Their vocal harmonies are just what you would expect from this combination and I find them very relaxing and easy to listen to.
'Aliens', 'Sea of Smiles', 'The Summer Backwards', 'Can't Stop the Rain Falling' and the eponymous opening track sound particularly strong and melodic on the first few listens, and I'm sure that all the others will grow on me very quickly. I have to admit that listening to the opening bars of 'Sea ...' reminded me so very much of the main title theme to the film HALLOWEEN but it's no less appealing for that.
Overall then, certainly a worthwhile addition to my huge prog collection, but certainly not bracketed under either 'G' or 'Y'!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2012
Wherein heritage prog seers Chris (Yes) Squire and Steve (Genesis) Hackett bang heads and bring us `A Life Within A Day' - a title perhaps tilted at the four-year gestation this took to fruition. It's faintly whimsical almost, as is the duo's chosen nomenclature for the project. Hackett Squire? Accountants - or worse, lawyers. Squire Hackett? Too close to BBC TV period drama for safety. The silly Squackett may sound like something served battered with fries but the analogy falls apart fast when you start listening, for this is rich and robust stuff that doesn't trade on former glories. Yes, there are nods over the shoulder to the sound that respectively trademarked two great bands, but the focus is very much on creating something fresh, contemporary to the current shapes and forms of the genre rather than reformatting the past. Opener title track is ripe with strings, programming and jokey bombast boasting a Hans Zimmerman-like percussive bed over which Squire's thonking basslines share centre stage with some frenzied lead from Hackett worthy of the late Ollie Halsall in full flight (no faint praise). This breathless carousel is succeeded by a well-balanced set ("Divided Self" is so catchily upbeat it's ridiculous; "Sea Of Smiles" is the single) that never flags. Of course its fun to spot the musical markers of their early careers as well as Steve's solo work, not least in vocal harmonising that summons eerily at times a sense that the pipes of Gabriel and Anderson are about open up. Quite where they go next is anyone's guess but, more please. This stands up strong and square against front-line material being released by musicians half their age. It comes in a battery of formats, too: standard CD; limited edition two-disc deluxe edition with hardback cover and 5.1 surround bonus disc, and limited and numbered vinyl (to be filed alongside those treasured old Charisma and Atlantic LPs).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
If you like Yes, then you should enjoy this album. There is a feel of the 'Fly from Here' album in places, and throughout there are great Squire basslines and Yes style vocals and harmonies. 'Aliens' is like Alan Parsons Project mixed with 'Fly from Here'! Watch out for the title track 'A Life within a day', a wonderful title work in the Style of Led Zep's Kashmir. And speaking of Kashmir, check out a great version of that on you tube by a band called Karnataka, a great female fronted prog outfit worth investigating. As for this Squackett album, someone said to me, 'Are you really going to buy an album with such a silly name?', but I did, and I'm glad I did. It's good stuff. Buy and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
This disc only came to prove how good the partnership between musicians careers statements. There is always something new to present and good. Incidentally, very good! It's nothing spectacular, but with category and well done. Who is a fan of Yes and Genesis or likes a good progressive rock can not ignore this CD. It is a good appetizer for those who get to know one or the other and then engage in various works that the two have already made in their respective groups or solos or partnerships. There is not one bad track. Worth at least a grade 8.5. Very good!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
So it isn't a merging of Genesis/Yes classic prog rock - but was it realistic to expect that? Certainly consistent with the quality of Hackett's recent albums - his best output since the late 70's/early 80's. I think Hackett and Squire "merge" well, and Hackett proves (again) that he is capable of covering a varity of styles, which (in my opinion) he has not done enough of in the past.
It's probably more Asia/GTR style prog than Genesis or Yes, but that is no bad thing in itself.
Still, I'm looking forward to more "re-invented" classis Genesis - which I believe is Mr Hackett's next project...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
When i first received my copy of Life within a day i played it 5 times in a row.
We have something special here...
In a nut shell, Chris Squire has entrusted his superb writing to the established in-house skills of Hackett and King, and the results when combined with Steve Hackett's own share of the material are outstandingly good.

Steve and Chris enhance each other very well. I don't know what brought this album together?
I suspect it may have been a meeting of personalities?
How ever it happened, each contributor is generous and mutually supportive in equal measure.
It sounds to me like these guys trust and respect each other and that gets us a 5 star album.

Squire and Hackett become Squakett very much thanks to the production/engineering/keyboard talent that is Roger King.

There is plenty of melody, harmony, great lyrics, fantastic playing, intricate and powerful instrumental sections.
Every track simply adds to the whole and there isn't a duff track to be heard.
When it ends you just want to put it on again.
An ever more rare experience these days when it comes to new albums...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)