Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
62
4.5 out of 5 stars
Style Name: Vermiculite Bag|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2014
This is my first time using vermiculite so was surprised how light this stuff is. From what I have read in books the grade of Vermiculite supplied is a little to big to cover seeds with but is ideal for lightening your soil mix and aiding water retention. I will be buying more vermiculite but will be looking for bigger bags of a finer grade as you soon use up 10L of the stuff. This size is more suitable if you just have a few large pots of flowers.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
This product is very good value for money. The 10l can help you increase the quality of a large volume of soil mixes by adding better drainage. This can help prevent algae buildup and can help your plants achieve more! Don't over do it though, else the vermiculite starts to slime up and be counter productive. Great to sprinkle some fresh dry in the bottom of a propagator to prevent heavy damp and increase air exchange potential.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
Value for money but now I need some white perlite as vermiculite not suitable for all applications. Read up on the web to determine which YOU need for your particular usage, as they have different characteristics. That said, this produc I bought will not go to waste.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
One of two products that serve the same functions; both can be used alone to germinate seeds or in a mix with peat or coir as a growing medium for seedlings and cuttings. Both are fairly inexpensive. Vermiculite was the product first recommended by a more experienced gardener and has been used ever since, initially in a small pack sufficient for a very few pots although then mixed with peat.

Available in various bag sizes and particle size, the material is inherently light but fairly bulky in larger quantities which will then need significant storage space. Personally currently used only when potting, a smaller 5 litre bag of almost sand-like particle size had lasted 3 years but now requires replacement. It was recently suggested that, mixed equally with coir, it can be used to improve our local clay-heavy soil by providing far better aeration and drainage within a very small plot.

This is a far coarser particulate than previously used with much of it 5 - 10mm in size. Whether the greater coarseness will affect current practices, rooting or growth rates, watering frequency etc, will require some time to ascertain, especially as there is about 1 litre of the finer material yet to be used and which will be reserved for planting out etc. With a few plants on order and yet to arrive at the time of review, this will be used with coir as a base liner when transplanting. It is something that will not grow stale or become unusable if stored for very long periods. For economy, purchase the largest quantity you can store.

Possibly due to settlement and further granulation, the bag appears half-empty and unexpectedly small but 50 or 100 litres was too large a quantity to order for our needs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
I have used it for many years and it benefits my young plants and seedlings, it helps them to make roots
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
Great for getting seeds started as it has less nutrients for rot develop and decay the seed before it germinates, once germinated I put them ''palms'' in to a 30/20/50 mix of vermiculite/ sand / compost.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
just what I needed as I had found it very difficult to find in our local garden centres in East Sussex
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
Imagine my surprise when an apparently empty box arrived. Imagine my even greater surprise when said box wasn't empty; it contained a bag of vermiculite. It's that light!

It comes in a nice bag with a handy carrying handle. Added to your soil, it will retain moisture, and help with drainage. It seems to do the job well. One thing to consider it to make sure you don't get it confused with Grape Nuts, not that anyone eat that muck.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 January 2015
Decent-sized bag for occasional potting up of seedlings etc. Not much else one can say about it - arrived dry and in perfect condition.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Find it invaluable when potting up plants or growing from seed
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)