Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 8 November 2017
Was really more about the 'times' than the 'life' of the lady in question. It became very boring at points as not enough information was given about what happened to her or her family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2001
Barthory is one of the most notorious figures in Hungarian history. Thorne examines all of the possible theories about her - that she really was a monster; that she was "fitted-up" by the Catholic Hapsburgs for being the only powerful Protestant woman aristocrat left in Hungary etc. By the end of this beautifully-written book the mystery has simply deepened, as the real Barthory eludes all the traps historians set for her.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2001
A fascinating read, Thorne puts forward several views on the Blood Countess, each made me stop and think. Not many books manage that. Also a section about various other 'evil' women through history along with the myths and legends of 15th century Hungary. Brilliant.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2012
I've received the book and I found it in a very good state although used. It is a very interesting book, and I appreciate the historical context
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2001
I can well imagine that someone with a passion for Dracula- and related vampire legends might find this book a great addition to his library. To a relative outsider the book offers most of all a description how seventeenth century justice based it's verdicts on hearsay and unreliable witnesses. The story itself describes how these elements managed to change an admittedly harsh mistress of the manor (but probably only a little harsher than most Hungarian and Russian mistresses of the era) into a maniacal criminal in the eyes of her judges. The book also provides an interesting insight in 17th century Hungary's feudal and clan structures. Those of you hoping for blood-curdling relevations and true horror-stories will be disappointed by only been shown that the 'Blood Countess' was little more than a victim of gossip, clan interests and primitive trial practice.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2014
Well written, well researched, another good read for anyone who is avid (if elderly) student/reader of history. Would recommend without hesitation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2014
I bought this almost 2 years ago.., still haven't read past the first few pages. Nuf said. About me at least.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)