Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 23 June 2012
If you're reading this review chances are you've played a Lego game before, so there's no need to explain how the games work. Lego Batman 2: DC Superheroes has the same fun, addictive game play that all the Lego games have. What makes Lego Batman 2 feel new and fresh is the addition of voice acting and a sprawling free roam map for you to play around in.

The game starts with Bruce Wayne and Lex Luthor attending the man of the year awards, and having the party crashed by a familiar face. This sets up the rest of the game and as the story progresses you see why all your favourate heroes and villains are intertwined in this epic story. The voice acting makes this all possible, I'm sure Travelers Tales could have written a perfectly good story in the old style of slap stick voiceless comedy, but adding dialogue really helps and only adds to the humour of the game.

There are some fantastic voice talents at work here too. Nolan North (Voice of Drake from Uncharted) and Tara Strong (Voice of MANY cartoon & video game characters) were cast as Penguin and Harley Quinn respectively, and both of them did fantastic jobs voicing the characters in Batman: Arkham City, so it was nice to see them here as well. The cast also includes Clancy Brown as Lex Luthor (Clancy voices Mr Krabbs on Spongebob Squarepants), and although not credited with a specific character John Di Maggio (The voice of Bender from Futurama) is in the game too. Steve Blum voices The Joker and does a fantastic job, making him sound almost identical to Mark Hamill's Joker, which is no bad thing.

The real meat of the game though is the story and open world. The game's story is split up into around 15 missions, but as you know with Lego games you have to play through them at least twice as there will be lots of parts not accessible until you have unlocked the right characters. There is a healthy selection of vehicles including cars, planes, helicopters, boats, and even a pumpkin on wheels. Now though, there is a lot more use for them, Lego Batman 2 features a fully explorable Gotham City, including Wayne Manor, Arkham Asylum, Wayne Tower, and lots of familiar places (especially to those who know the Batman universe). There are tonnes of secrets to find, mini games to play, civilians to save, and bad guys to beat up. Once you complete the story for the first time this unlocks free play in Gotham City where you can freely switch between any unlocked characters you have. Flying around Gotham City as Superman while the John Williams Superman theme plays is delightful.

There are red bricks to find, 250 gold bricks (that are made up by completing levels, finding minikits, and solving puzzles in Gotham City), a staggering amount of characters and vehicles, plus create-a-character, and all the usual Lego goodness you expect. This is by far Travelers Tales' best Lego game yet and whether your new to the series, or have played every other game, this is a must own game for all ages.

If I had to pick out a negative for Lego Batman 2, it would be that some of the characters don't feature as prominently as I would have liked, and there is still only support for 2 players and no online co-op. You could argue that not having online co-op in this day and age is unacceptable, but to be honest this game is best played with friends and family sat around the same TV. Sure there are games that need online multiplayer/co-op but Lego Batman 2 isn't one of them. There will come a time when Travelers Tales needs to include it though.

Also something worth noting, is that on the back of the box and on the main menu in game, there is reference to 'downloadable content'. I don't know whats planned for DLC, but I'm very interested to see what comes.

All in all, this is a game that needs to be in your collection. It's the best Lego game so far, and if this is a sign of things to come, then the future is very bright indeed...

...One ring to rule them all...
44 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 April 2016
“Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes” is a Lego action-adventure videogame that serves as a sequel to “Lego Batman: The Videogame”. This game offers an open-world environment, in which players can explore Gotham City. There are 70 playable characters to choose from (you unlock them as you proceed) – and you can select from a wide range of superheroes and villains, from Superman, the Flash, and Wonder Woman to Joker, Penguin and Lex Luthor. For the first time in a Lego videogame, there is dialogue. And, unlike the first game, you can opt for 2-player cooperative play.

The story concerns Lex Luthor breaking the Joker out of Arkham Asylum, who quickly releases all of the other villains. So Batman and Robin are in hot pursuit … but, finding themselves in a tricky situation, Superman arrives to help out the Dynamic Duo! Luthor heads off to Metropolis to cause havoc, and – using kryptonite – weakens Superman. So the Justice League are called in, and there’s a big show down between the heroes and villains.

This is a really fun game – although in no way serious or complex. Yet it is well made, and the quality of the graphics, game-play, and music is fantastic. It’s a game that can be enjoyed by children and adults. You don’t need to have played the first game in order to understand this one – but if you played the first and liked it, I think you’ll be impressed at how this instalment is an all-round improvement.

This limited edition comes with a Lex Luthor mini Lego toy figure! Okay, it's a nice extra - but don't go spending a lot on it. The standard price for this game is £12 to £15, and the figure doesn't add much value to it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2012
The LEGO game franchise is a story of evolution, both in a positive and negative fashion. Each new game has brought something new to the franchise, but they generally also make at least one massive blunder that hampers the game. `LEGO Batman 2' is no different; a positive new feature is the open world structure that allows Batman and pals to roam Gotham City at will; negative features include the camera whilst flying and the poor story. Before delving any deeper into the pros and cons of the game, some more information may be required.

`LEGO Batman 2' sees the return of the Caped Crusader and his handy sidekick, but this time you also get the rest of the DC Justice League including Flash, Wonder Woman and Superman. Despite getting ten or so new characters to play with, they don't really arrive until the very end of the game, except for Supes. The erstwhile Clark Kent is an excellent addition to the franchise with the ability to fly, super strength, ice breath and laser vision, but he is also a pain to control in the air. `LEGO Batman 2' is a game best played in co-op. This is a local affair and the screen splits according to where each character is on the screen. If one player is flying around, the screen goes everywhere and can result in one/both players being sick.

Camera issues have always been a problem with the LEGO games, but story rarely has. The first Batman game had a new narrative and it was a fun battle between Batman and the likes of Joker and The Penguin. `LEGO Batman 2' has some really dull story that is mostly chasing a robot around the city. More time appears to have been spent on the open world elements of the game, rather than the story mode. These open elements are easily the highlight of the game as you hunt down hundreds of extras to gain the full 100% in the game.

Despite camera issues there is plenty of value to be had in the experience that should be shared between two players, just expect one of you to be ill half the time. With all the heroes and villains to play through, it can take a while just working your way through them. The destructive and constructive play is still present and it remains great fun smashing things up. One highlight is the Gotham Funfair that has loads going on. Despite some niggling issues, the game is a great joy to play and perhaps the best in the series since LEGO Star Wars 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2012
First of all, this is indeed a worthy successor to the first game. I love all the new additions, like the open world environment and the way you go about finding supervillains. Playing as lego Superman is great, though it makes the game a bit too eaasy, since you rely on all his cool powers.
Other parts of the game are suitably challenging and after you get used to it, the game really is addictive and so much fun.

A WARNING though, I, like some others, ran into a GLITCH which means that I cannot get past the end of a level so buying the game might be a bit of a risk. There is probably a simple way to overcome the problem, but I will attempt to return the game anyway. Damn shame, since it is genuinely a great game.
44 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2016
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2016
great game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2012
LEGO BATMAN 2: DC SUPER HEROES successfully mixes the Batman universe with that of other Marvel DC characters such as Superman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern etc. As before, you have to play through a number of levels in Story Mode before using any character you've unlocked and bought to redo the levels in Free Play to find and collect all ten Minikits hidden in each level, reach Super Hero status by collecting enough studs and rescue the Citizens In Peril (one is hidden in each level, while there are more in the Gotham City hub).

Batman and Robin sometimes stumble across suit dispensers that allow them to enter a special suit that gives them certain powers that they would not otherwise have, and Traveller's Tales have designed this game in such a way that even in Free Play there are times when you will still have to revert to these two, so they won't be redundant just because you've unlocked what you believe to be more powerful characters!

There are some new things to the Lego games universe, and the first noticeable one is that the characters actually speak for the first time. No longer do they just grunt, laugh and make noises, they now exhibit dialogue. I would have preferred it if there were a mixture of more lines when you enter a Batcomputer terminal, though -- hearing Alfred repeatedly saying "What can I do for you, sir?" did grate on me after a while. Perhaps some similar variations would have helped alleviate this problem, and the game could then pick one from several instead of repeating the same one over and over again?

Some of the characters, such as Superman and Wonder Woman, can actually fly! In the levels this is quite straightforward, but in the hub it is a little bit fiddly but not too bad when you get used to it.

You sometimes reach checkpoints in a level, so you can actually go back to that level during a later gaming session and resume from that point instead of having to completely finish a level before you can save what you have done.

I really want to give the game a higher mark, but as it stands there are some frustrating programming glitches that mean that I cannot. I'm not just talking about the problem of some iffy camera angles and some occasionally bad hit detection (something that has appeared in previous Lego games), but some more problematic ones.

Some other reviewers have spotted one that also affected me; there is one particular cut-scene where, twice out of the four times I have seen it, it froze and I had to reset the console and redo part of the level. Luckily the second time in each case it bypassed this bit and I was able to proceed, but this is still worth noting.

However, I have come across some other glitches that, at the time of writing, other reviews have yet to comment on, some of which make some levels impossible to complete. I had a problem where I had to use a character's heat vision to destroy a golden Lego item, and what is supposed to happen is that the item gradually heats to a bright red before exploding, but there was one occasion where something just wouldn't heat up to that level, meaning that I had to quit the level and do it again.

I have had a problem in one section of a level where the game would not let me change characters by holding Y and selecting one manually; it would do the transitional animation but this would be about four times as long as normal and you'd simply revert back to the character you were trying to change FROM. Using the triggers or bumpers still worked in this section, but if you need a specific character's ability and this character was not one of the ones automatically selected for you then this section would not allow you to get the Minikit hidden within it!

There is another galling glitch that has so far affected two levels on Free Play for me. I have successfully managed to collect all ten Minikits in these levels, but for some reason the end-of-level summary for one of them suddenly decided that I had only collected six while the one for the other level said I had only collected eight! No, I didn't, you stupid &%£*%^£ game, I collected ALL TEN on BOTH OCCASIONS! This means that you will not be able to unlock those particular vehicles for use in the hub, and some vehicles can only be unlocked by collecting all ten Minikits hidden within a level! Also, because you only get certain gold bricks by getting all ten Minikits within a level, this means that you cannot collect all 250 to enable you to build one of the hidden archways in the hub!

Another problem is that, when you collect a Red Brick or Gold Brick, you (and your second player, if you have one) are frozen to the spot while it reports the collection of this item, but the problem is that the rest of the action does not freeze and, unless you happen to be a character like Superman or Wonder Woman (who are virtually indestructible and cannot be killed by simply being hit multiple times), you will be killed by any enemies who attack you while you are frozen to the spot and unable to move for about ten seconds. Was this really necessary, Traveller's Tales? Does the player's action really need to stop like this? This doesn't happen when you collect a minikit or a Citizen In Peril within a level, so why have it happen here? It's just annoying seeing enemies gang up on your character during this and be powerless to defend yourself until the game allows you to resume control.

I'm sorry to have to do this to a Lego game, but Traveller's Tales simply should not have released it in its current state. Until there is a patch to relieve the game of these glitches I will be unable to give it a higher mark, and anyone who has no intention of connecting their XBox 360 to XBox Live for even a Silver membership (the membership that doesn't cost anything but still allows you to get DLC and updates and patches for games) will NEVER be able to complete the game. In fact, for the latter, if Traveller's Tales do manage to do an XBox Live-borne patch for LEGO BATMAN 2, they would also be advised to make the patched version the version readily available in the shops while allowing people with the existing glitchy version a chance to exchange their disc for one containing the patched version.

Disappointing news indeed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2012
Having played Batman 1 almost to completions with my 5yo son, We were both looking forward to this sequel.
I must admit we were both a bit disappointed. The game has a new polished look but this is half of the problem, the screen is often cluttered with too much going on. The characters get lost on the clutter. This is made worse by the split screen method favoured by later Lego titles. Another issue is the brightness and contrast. Many scenes are very dark and it makes Batman (all in black..) almost invisible. Activate his stealth suit and he becomes invisible...sadly to both the player and the enemy!
My other issue is the need to drive around gotham city. The vehicles are too fast for effective control, again compounded by split screen mode.
The talking characters add some narative, but take away much of the comedy and seem to cheapen the game somewhat.

That said, most levels are fun, the characters varied and the locations often quite stunning.
Batman has matured, but we didn't really want him to....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2015
My edition was crushed, and I'm sending it back
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2015
Another Xbox game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

Need customer service? Click here