Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
13
3.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2012
Outpost was a lowbudget Nazi zombie horror fest - good fun, plenty action, suitable gore and a very clever premise.

This sequel, however, seems to have been filmed at night and during the main battle scenes it is impossible to tell which are the zombies and which are the humans. We never see the Zombies up close and it makes the fight scenes dull when you cannot tell who is winning in a two person battle. The characters are never properly 'drawn' and quite why the female and male leads are involved in a hunt for the Dead of the Reich is never quite explained.

Outpost took place in the same underground bunker - but at least the lights were on which made it all the more thrilling and chilling. It seems almost as though the writers and director of this one believes that the undead can only come out at night.

The ending leaves the way open for a 3rd installment, but unless it can return to form, I would advise the makers not to bother.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
The original was brilliant it was low budget but excellent this however is not good acting is brutal and story line is all over the place zombies appear too plastic looking, disappointed had the ingredients to be a great movie
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
THE MOVIE

Near the end of World War II German scientist Klausner (David Grant) is working on the Black Sun Project, a technology to an army of immortal undead soldiers.
In present day Eastern Europe, a NATO task force accompanied by a nazi-hunter (Catherine Steadman) and a scientist (Richard Coyle) set out for the infamous bunker of OUTPOST I where they are pitted against an army of zombie stormtroopers.

The 2012 sequel to OUTPOST was once again directed by Steve Barker and written by him and Rae Brunton, but somehow it is lacking everything that made the preceding movie so great.
OUTPOST 2 is too dark: while part 1 had descent lighting, the lights remain off most of the time in the sequel and it is nealy impossible to see what is going on.
The nazi zombies seem less threatening than they were in part 1. It seems they also have lost most of their abilities that made them so shocking.
The story is continued and extended, but somehow the sequel just lacks the originality and the eerie atmosphere.
The acting is a few notches below the original. While the main actors Richard Coyle and Catherine Steadman do a descent job the rest of the cast are merely mediocre. David Gant as Klausner isn't really given the chance to excel due to how his role is written.
Where Barker succeeded in OUTPOST by creating a refreshingly different kind of zombie movie, he fails to maintain the myth in OUTPOST II. Maybe it was because so little was explained in the original that it was so successful.
OUTPOST II: BLACK SUN is not a total disaster. It is still watchable and better than many other zombie movies out there, but after seeing the original I had rather high expectations which weren't met in the final film. Average.

RATING: 5 / 10

THE BLU-RAY

Reviewed version: 2012 Lionsgate UK Blu-Ray
Feature running time: 102 mins. (uncut)
Rating: Not Rated (MPAA) / 15 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1 / 16x9
Audio: English 5.1 DTS HD
Subtitles: English SDH
Extras: Making of Featurette
Region: B (locked)

Picture: A- (in scenes where it isn't too dark to see)
Audio: B
Extras: D-
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
I must admit that I am a big fan of Zombie movies & quite enjoyed the first 'Outpost'. When I saw that 'Outpost Black Sun' was sitting on the shelf at my local Blockbusters, I quickly rented it. I was so impressed with the movie that I promptly went out & bought it on Blue Ray.

In my humble opinion, 'Outpost 2' is much better than the first & just ticks all the boxes that you want in a good movie. It has a good, well balanced cast, well written script & (for a change) a British special forces unit.

Well acted, great Zombies & the end does leave it open for a third????

Well worth watching over & over again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
The bigger budget hasn't helped make this a better film than the first. The ghost / zombie soldiers now make daft growling noises, don't teleport and have lost all sense of menace. The photography is too dark and murky and the characters are dull. The first film is MILES ahead of this in every way and I would like a blu ray release of that rather than a third outing if this is the direction the series is going.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
Really loved this film, great follow up which has set up a 3rd film (though i here that the next is a prequel). Lots of shooting and gore, has a great sound track as well. Good acting, though i felt it lacked a DC lead from the first film. Also has creepy unsettling bits...(the laughing women) brrrr.

Must watch film for fans of the first.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
Outpost is a very unique and original Nazi zombie horror movie and if youre a big fan then you wont be disappointed with Outpost 2 as it continues the story brilliantly, the budget is top notch once again with plenty of quality action and great effects and lashings of blood splattering!! The story really expands on the original going deeper into the secrets that are held in the bunker and the Nazi undead plans to take over the world bit by bit, the cast is great too and overall its damn good fun from start to end, the bluray is good quality and has a making of feature!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
First film at least had decent zombie effects, this one is just a pure exercise in making a film to sell it on. Tired, no new Ideas and frankly embarrassing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
DUD! Not a very good sequel and not a very good film ... best avoided. The original was good this is not.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
I ordered this film for my brother as a birthday present. It was ordered before the release date so we had a long wait but it did arrive by the specified delivery date. My brother was really looking forward to watching this film and seemed happy with it when it arrived. I was especially pleased becuase the price came down and Amazon gave me some money back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)