Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 25 March 2017
This is Chopin as a youthful, passionate being, blown like a leaf by his own feelings, whoever they may have been for ... Khatia Buniatishvili gives an extraordinary portrait of the composer, essentially as a poetic, gentle soul, but also of great power. The way the opening Waltz in C sharp minor leads into the grandeur of the Second Sonata leaves one in no doubt that this was someone who lived in extremes. She slows down considerably for the second subject, but voices it so beautifully you cannot but be won over. Her legato has a beautiful, immaculate tone, but the playing at other times is turbo-charged - the following Scherzo, for instance. In the Concerto No. 2 she is joined by the Orchestre de Paris and Paavo Jarvi, the conductor who brought forth such stunning results in her latest Rachmaninov disc. Here the same sense of line and urgent phrasing gives a superb spring to the whole, while Buniatishvili seems to combust for sheer elan and fleet-fingered majesty. She gives the impression of being always one step ahead in her mind, recalling the playing of Heifetz (admittedly on a different instrument) in her ability to be very fast but also give a large scale to the phrasing, as if somehow she has all the time in the world. It is amazing playing - she is one of the greatest two or three pianists in the world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2016
Best Ever !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Khatia is beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
Flawless and passionate playing throughout, I particularly enjoyed Ballade No 4. At the end of the album Ms Buniatishvili treats us to an artistic and monochrome Shoe Fetish video. She is a talent on so many levels, much to recommend here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
Chopin's not one of my favourites I'm afraid, so this was bought as a Christmas present for a friend who loves it. I did catch some of it, and she's a lovely pianist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
Buniatishvili is a superb Chopin interpreter, lyrical, engaging, technically outstanding. Sound quality very good. Can't fault.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
I'm only commenting on the last movement of Chopin's 2nd Piano Concerto, having heard it on Classic FM - but it incensed me enough to write something here. I love this piece and I'm all for playing it energetically - but particularly in the last movement this recording has too much speed and not enough love for the music. One or two of the chords sounded a bit suspect - I can forgive that, but the timing was irregular and the sense of panic just spoiled the whole thing. I hope she records it again in 20 years in a calmer frame of mind!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2016
better than motherland album but not nearly as exciting as the persona/performances, etc one sees on You Tube. Sort of toned down I would say. I love Chopin so I can't say much more. She is coming to NYC in December. Would like to see her at Carnegie Hall..but I NEED to see her program first before I travel that far to hear "intimacy" and "foo foo" music. Steve Cape Carteret, NC
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Impressive..... In many ways.... Reviewers rant on about her sense of indulgence and personality, her image etc ... She's a very talented pianist, she's young with all in front of her, she's great in looks, go for it...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
Buniatishvili's playing is superb but the sound engineers have made such a poor job of it that the recording is not worth buying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)