Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
The Ultra-Violence
Format: MP3 Download|Change

on 4 November 2015
Another review that takes me back to 1987 and a total masterpiece, a buy or die album and one of the greatest thrash albums of all time, the Ultra Violence stands tall even amongst its contemporaries in Bonded By Blood, Darkness Descends and the Legacy, the raw energy, the sustained intensity, unstoppable riffage, vicious double bass all culminated in classics such as Thrashers, Evil Priest, Kill As One and the epic instrumental Ultra Violence (which has enough riffs alone to make 4 modern day Thrash albums) and what makes it even more astonishing is that these guys were all teens at the time, the drummer was 15, the musicianship on show should be illegal for people so young and yet with this release came a diversity under the banner of thrash, this was a time for Metallica clones yet Death Angel released a monster with a twist, they took the "Razor" esque riffage and added a touch of wizardry to produce probably the first Melodic Thrash release, whilst also producing enough passages of intensity to link the band to the Speed Metallers, it would not be understated even to this day to signify the importance of this release and the role it played and the subsequent bands that would not have existed had this not happened, all the more astonishing is that Death Angels next 2 releases, Frolic and Act III were terrible, however I don't subscribe to the one hit wonder moniker that curses the band in these modern times, Relentless Retribution and Dream Calls for Blood released in 2010 and 2013 prove that Death Angel are now again back where they belong, as a major force in the world of Thrash............................
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2010
...but it does sound a little of it's time.
Each time I put this album on for a quick blast of old-school thrashing, I'm a little surprised at how the fierce pace, chugging riffs and frenetic fretwork leaves me unsatisfied. The Ultra-violence was a constant listen for me when I first got it and remained a favourite for some time. The pounding bass of Evil Priest's mid-section, the unrelenting heaviness of Voracious Souls, the vicious guitar intro to Kill as One...everything on this album hit the mark and I placed it alongside Eternal Devastation, Killing Technology, Darkness Descends and Terrible Certainty, among others, as one of THE great albums of the thrash genre. And it certainly gained terrific reviews in the press.
Yet now...well it sounds just a little dated. Not that that in itself is such a bad thing as there's nothing wrong with revisiting what was one the great eras of metal, but I can listen to the other albums I mentioned (and more besides - Nuclear Assault's Handle with Care, Testament's The Legacy) and still find them to be very engaging and hugely satisfying. Those albums possess a unique edge and there is something very creative and genre-defining about them. With The Ultra-violence, while all the necessary ingredients are there, I don't think there is enough uniqueness about this album to set it apart(other than the fact that all the musicians were very young - I think the drummer was twelve, seriously!). Don't misunderstand, on it's own, this is a great thrash album, with the aforementioned chugging riffs etc. coupled with a nice clear production that does the band great credit. I just believe there are plenty of more intense, more vicious and more creative thrash records out there that really pushed the boundaries of the genre.
I cannot comment on subsequent Death Angel albums; for some reason I never followed them after this debut and its possible they expanded their sound after first finding their feet with The Ultra-violence. Despite my misgivings, if you can pick it up cheap, this is a good buy. Hardcore thrash fans of old should own this and if they don't (because it was hard to get every album out there with just a weekend job to cover all your teenage needs) it's a worthy addition to a collection. And for someone looking to explore the thrash genre anew, it's a good place to start. It's just no match for Dark Angel
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2017
Awesome thrash
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2017
All ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2016
awesome beast of an album...
added bonus of white vinyl. buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2008
I still remember way back, when this 1st came out. So much better than frolic through the park and Act3 (111}.Personaly I would put it up there with Testaments 1st cd which is a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2002
Possibly one of the best albums from the youngest bands in the thrash era of the eighties (the youngest was 15 at the time!).From the technical brilliance and sheer aggression of the title track (Ultraviolence) through Evil Priest to Final Death, it is no wonder Motorhead wanted them as support in the late eighties.This was the way of the beast we call thrash/speed/whatever and should have been the future of metal. Using new ways of delivering old themes this is an album for any top ten metal album chart.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2004
I bought this record when it was released in the Uk and i was playing this record at least 3 times aday every day and i got to agree with the other reviewer at the time these guys where like 15 yrs old but they sounded great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)