Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
147
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2015
I'm currently reading this to my 6yr old son and 8 yr old daughter while I find it a bit dated my kids love it and since I started reading it to them it's been very easy to get them to bed cause they can't wait to hear what happens next. Very entertaining for kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
This Book Is Really Good !!!
I Wanted To Read It Every Where I Go It Is That Good !
I Hope They Bring Out A New Book Like The Mystery Of smugglers Cove !
Tell Paul Moxham To Keep It Up.
Please Get Back A.S.A.P
Best Wishes
Leila Blackburne xXx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
While they are on their summer holidays, Joe, Ann, Sarah and Will face off with a gang of crooks who are using the seaside caves for goodness-knows-what. While the police are easily misled, the children stay on the case until it is solved!

The story has rather more back-and-forth to the same locations than I recall from Famous Five and similar novels, and the adults seemed more relaxed about the children getting into scrapes. We also watch the children solve the mystery rather than join in, but there is plenty of engagement with all the characters and the central mystery is a good one that children will easily understand and enter into.

I was given a free copy of this book in order to review it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
Reminiscent of the End Blyton stories of my childhood which I still love. Just about to download the next one which I am sure will be as jolly and thrilling as the last as I am sure the adventurers would say!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Fantastic book for 9 to 10-year-olds, great descriptive language and character empathy. Joe Mitchell and his two younger sisters are on a big adventure with their friend, Will, and suspense and exitement are lurking in every chapter. Great book for both boys and girls alike, and definitely worth it for the money. It is absolutely perfect for those who just love a bit of adventure and mystery. So buy it now - you won't regret it later on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
This book is outstanding but I only gave it four because in the speech sections the word 'said' and 'whispered' we're used constantly. I would recommend this book to 9/12 year olds or any one who likes adventure, drama and fun!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Truly amazing book... Had me on tenterhooks the whole time! Written very well and I hope that there are many more books to come. A truly talented piece of writing. Love It!! :) :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
I've had the pleasure of reading two of Paul Moxham's short story and although my previous one was much better ('Mystery of the Missing Gnomes') this was still a good, well-structured read. Very much reminding me of Secret Seven and Famous Five I didn't seem to warm to the children as much in this one, for whatever reason. I think I just found the Gnome mystery more likely for children to resolve. Still worth a read though :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Very exciting and could NOT put it down but I don't think it's the best book I've ever read because, there is too many words used over the same page. That I don't like. A great idea to spend any spare time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
this is a book full of adventure. an adveunture is what any child would love to go on. you go on an adventure just by reading this but in a much safer way. you get drawn into the story and become one of the children. you join them on brilliant exciting adventures. this is almost as good as enid blytons secret seven and famous five. what a brilliant book.if you are ten or under i would really reccomend it. i am omly giving it a four as i am not ten or under i am eleven!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse