Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Art Of Renée Fleming
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.09


on 8 June 2017
Bought this chiefly for the glorious Korngold:"Glück, das mir verbleib" 'Marietta's Lied'. If only Renee Fleming had performed in and recorded the whole of "Die Tote Stadt". One forgets that this aria is meant to be a duet with tenor, but her lyrical, pure voice is so right for the whole. I can do without the 'easy listening' tracks. I much prefer her operatic offerings. Such a pity she appears to be deserting the operatic stage, but perhaps preserving her voice for concerts and recordings for many more years to come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2017
Bought as a gift, can only comment on price and delivery, both excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 June 2012
This CD has 18 great tracks recorded between 1997 and 2010. This album would be a great introduction to Renee, perhaps if you saw her at the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Concert singing on the balcony of Buckingham Palace with Alfie Boe and thought you would like to hear more of her.

The tracks are broken down as 14 + 4 bonus. Here are the tracks by composer:-

Bellini:
Casta Diva (from Norma)

Bernstein:
Somewhere (from West Side Story)

Catalani:
Ebben? Ne andrò lontana (from La Wally)

Cilea:
Io son l'umile ancella (from Adriana Lecouvreur)

Dvorak:
Mesícku na nebi hlubokém 'Song to the Moon' (from Rusalka)

Gershwin:
Summertime (from Porgy and Bess)

Gounod:
Ah! Je veux vivre dans ce rêve (from Roméo et Juliette)
Ave Maria

Handel:
Ombra mai fu (from Serse)

Korngold:
Glück, das mir verbleib 'Marietta's Lied' (from Die Tote Stadt)

Puccini:
Vissi d'arte (from Tosca)
Un bel di vedremo (from Madama Butterfly)
O mio babbino caro (from Gianni Schicchi)

Schubert:
Ave Maria, D839

Bonus tracks:
15. Wheels of a Dream [with Bryn Terfel]
16. Amazing Grace
17. Rodgers - Carousel / You'll Never Walk Alone
18. Hallelujah

Renee has a full lyric soprano voice like warm butter with plenty of power yet remains fully focused on what she is singing. She looks as good today as she did 20 yrs ago and more like 40 than someone over 50.

I cannot think of anyone buying this album who will not like it, there is something here for everyone.
11 Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
I love Renee Fleming's voice - absolutely beautiful and a sheer pleasure to listen to. This carefully compiled album containing some of the best of her recordings over the years, is a joy.

However.... the mood is abruptly shattered by the final four so called 'bonus' tracks. There's nothing wrong with the songs themselves, although I personally don't like the particular arrangement of 'Amazing Grace'. They simply don't fit the rest of the album..... Like garnishing unnecessarily, a classic garment with extra strips of cloth.

Sometimes less is more. Listen and enjoy but save the 'bonus' for another occasion.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
One of the all-time greats, Renee Fleming never fails to uplift the spirits. If I find any fault with this CD it is in the bonus tracks where she does not seem at her happiest. The excerpts from Korngold, Dvorak and Catalani, however, more than make up for this quibble - they are truly beautiful.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2012
Excellent as always. What a talent ! Contains a good
selection, showcasing her range. There is something here
for everybody.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
I bought it for the Verdi "Ave Maria", I swear she sings it just for me... to me. To see this all American girl on YouTube walk out in front of an orchestra smiling, confident and happy and then slowly take on the very persona of Desdemona was little short of a transformation. Fascinating to compare her rendition ( if one can use such a word) of this aria with that of Renata Frenni's in the 1976 live recording. I would love to hear her sing "Roll out the Barrel"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
first time I listened to Renee Fleming was via Sky arts channel 130. I was hooked so I bought this C.D. Needless to say I am still hooked. Such a rich expressive voice . Beautiful interpetation, phrasing plus sensitivity, despite some of the recordings requiring a tad lift with the" treble control ". I was extremely impressed with Renee Fleming's singing. However I was not at all impressed with the C.D. Booklet colour layout. White printing on silvery grey proved almost impossible to read even with large ceiling light and magnifying glass. I gave up trying . The musical contribution was magical thankfully. Excellent value -
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Voices are very much a question of personal taste so if you don't like Renee Fleming's sound you won't like this. That's the problem with these reviews. Anyroad up this is a selection of some of the most beautiful arias and songs ever written from the predictable to the more interesting. whether you think any of them is the best available is a question of personal preference and an indication of how much time you have to spend evaluating in some cases hundreds of different versions.There may be better versions of Rusalka, for instance, but until Valentina Natfornita gets around to recording it this one will do for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Renée Fleming: Distant Light
£7.99
Renée Fleming
£7.99
Guilty Pleasures
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)