Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
41
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2013
I'm sure this is a great book as it's been around for so long - I snapped it up because it's rumoured to be set where I live - just be aware (I wasn't - D'oh !) that it uses archaic language and ancient terms - the great thing is you can look up words that aren't familiar to you on the kindle version and so far most of them are defined - like `fain' and `whetted'. I bet ancient battle reinactors are right at home with it though. Actually I think I'll download Shakespeare on to kindle now as being able to look up words instantly could make it very readable.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
It's alliterative verse in a 19th century translation, but stick with it if you're at all interested as it's a great story full of historical colour. He slew not one dragon but three, and ruled for fifty years in addition. Yes, it's not easy going at times, but it's worth the effort.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Although I didn't understand some the words I could grasp what was happening by its excellent flow. Beowulf wins fights and helps a neighbouring town rid of the thief who disturbed the Dragon who causes fire and devastation. Beowulf died trying to kill the Dragon, he is hailed a hero, the dragons remains sink into the lake and Beowulf is cremated with a temple being built to remind them his true bravery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Beowulf is a great story and tells the story of a hero to the people of tribe in Europe. The story has to be read a couple of times to fully graft the meaning from the story, and gives the reader the opportunity to reflect if such a story could be true. Written by an unknown monk the original story has been translated into English. Comparing this to the movie the book is much better and gives the full story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
For readers of modern poetry, accustomed to more informal, colloquial voices and idioms, Professor Gummere’s 1910 translation of this Anglo-Saxon verse epic might initially present challenges: much more than in the 1999 translation by Seamus Heaney, Gummere attempts to faithfully reproduce in modern English what Heaney called the “grunting consonantal music” of the original’s alliterative structure, and recreate the pulsating rhythms, the compressed – and perhaps to modern eyes and ears – the awkward, unfamiliar syntax and word order of Anglo-Saxon’s inflected grammar.
However, spend just a little time and effort on this translation and one soon becomes ‘acclimatised’ to its unfamiliar mode of expression, its echoing of the original’s cadences; rather than knotty and dense, the verse begins to appear muscular and economical – one begins to feel its power, as well as its strangeness, and one is drawn into this dark, melancholic world of fortitude in the face of fearsome foes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Nice plot, but difficult language, too many references to local mythology, and too wordy dialogues (or even rather monologues). Good book nonetheless. That's probably how people wrote back then in 7th century or whenever it was written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
This is a great version of it, and I'm really glad I own a copy. Everyone should read this, it's utterly wonderful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Even though I'm just a dog, this saga is full of adventure, action & Old Norse wonderfulness, rather a shame that I can't actually read it or hold the book as I have no opposable thumbs! Woof!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
Hard work
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you want a free version then this is great but if you want the best version of this fantastic epic then get the wonderfully evocative Seamus Heaney translation, or read it in the original Anglo Saxon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse