Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 September 2016
I would have given this book 5 stars if the main female character hadn't been a bit of a cardboard entity who existed solely to fulfil the desires of the main male character. It does get points for being first-of-a-kind though, and a lot of the dialogue and action was very interesting. If you're looking for explicit sex, this won't deliver, but it goes in depth into the psyche of the male submissive masochist, which is both this book's best strength and it's biggest weakness (that, despite the idolization of the female character, the writer just couldn't quite make her convincing enough to me). So it really depends what you're looking for, but I don't regret reading it at all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2017
Often the story is bulked out by the to and fro of arguments about whether or not each lover should treat the other the way that the other requests, and both characters can come across as being whiny, or even a little insane. But ultimately, the poetic prose, and heavenly dark imagery is fantastic, had by the end does highlight the oxymoronic desires of love and lust. It leaves one to question; does love exist, or are we simply beasts of dominance?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
Great Classic Cult story, really good to read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2017
I know this is a classic,but I didn't like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
The classic bdsm novel. Can't be faulted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
This is an intensely irritating book. I suspect one would have to be a masochist to enjoy it. I really struggled to get to the end of it and many times felt like whipping the protagonist myself and telling him to grow up and get on with it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
I bought this after it appeared in a list of Top Kinky Books.... (that wasn't the actual title, but close enough) and so I was disappointed. Perhaps if I had had different expectations I might have enjoyed it more. It is an interesting look at the darker sides of S+M personalities.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
So this is the book that defines masochism. It's a very interesting to read but I cannot apply the terms like or dislike to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Having known about this publication for years, I'd never read it, but am glad I did. Considering it was first published in 1870, much of the content seems to influence everything that is written since then about a male wishing to submit to a female. For me, this book defines the basics of such relationships and serves as a warning to men who have similar inclinations. Excellent read as far as I am concerned.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Venus in Furs
£0.99
Confessions of Wanda
£2.98
Justine
£0.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)