Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 3 October 2017
What an amazingly strong lady, I literally couldn't put this book down.. A fantastic book that i recommend everyone should read. It makes you appreciate how lucky we are and what we have in life → FREEDOM! A simple right that's overlooked and one that's deserved by everybody regardless of creed or colour!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
Her story is a story of an indestructible human spirit. Her tale is a story of chess moves, with the the stake much higher, played between her and Dr Flint, with plenty of alternate players from both sides. Her story is a story of a mother's tenacity. Her story shows the very devil in man, but also the angels amongst us. Her story is also a real page turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
As sad and compelling a narrative, I felt bereathed for Linda and her Family. Shockingly cruel times. I enjoy reading truths of past times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
So much is wrong with this world, it amazes me that only 150 years ago we humans could have been so inhuman to each other and accepted slavery as a legitimate way of living. I know that it still occurs today, in many forms around the world, but thank goodness it is no longer the accepted norm. A very well written account of one poor persons incarcerated life. Makes you feel lucky to be free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
Fantastic.and heartbreaking,we as a race are years away from true enlightenment,how men can be so cruel to other men is a burden of shame that should never be relinquished or easily forgotten....absolute power corrupts absolutely....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
If this was fiction, I would be complaining that the author was trying to be like Alice Walker on her worst day. The story is interesting but has sadly been told better in previous mentioned fiction. Also, like other reviewers, I was surprised at just how highly literate the writer was as she had suffered such treatment from slave owners. But hey ho what do I know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
very good true story and very well written accout of her life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
Jacobs tells her story in such a compelling way that I was left with an overriding admiration for her indomitable spirit. This is a must read story about slavery from a slave woman's perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2017
not bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2017
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)