Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2011
I downloaded this book in an idle moment and had no special expectations.
Kaiten Nukariya has written a book that is profound, inspiring and scholarly. I will caution you that at times I was almost put off by his propensity for lists. For anyone other than academics this is tiresome BUT do not be put off. Kaiten's style is remarkably modern and there are truly beautiful quotes, descriptions and interpretations of Buddhist thought and practice generally and specifically what distinguishes Zen practice.
Sometimes books are difficult but reward your patience again and again. I feel this book must have influenced many later, more popular, twentieth century writers and for good reason.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
Note for anyone hoping to find a wealth of information about Samurais: it's about Zen, so be prepared for some heavy, but oh so worthwhile, philosophy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
Extensive history of Zen Buddhissm from india to china and Japan. Quite hard to read. Very good chapter on the practice and theory of Zazen though.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
I was always fascinated by Zen and eastern philosophy in general, though never ventured to verse myself in the discipline. This book provides an insightful scope into the Buddhist Zen philosophical doctrine; first exposing you to the history behind the philosophies of Zen in the early chapters, and then later presenting you with the key ideas and concepts in a very artistically written manner. Some of the concepts I have encountered will not be forgotten, and this book has inspired to continue exploring the fascinating world of eastern philosophy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
good book very informative however i imagined a little more information and talk of the samurai. the title is a little misleading but take nothing away its a excellent book. if you like this go and read hinduism and buddhism an historical sketch by sir charles elliot you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
This product was bought on Amazon books for my kindle. It came instantly which was what I expected and was a very interesting read. Definately worth its weight in gold
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
If you have any interest in Bushido, you must read this book. It is a fascinating reading, totally recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
too long winded and rather dull. Very detailed if you are very interested
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Very interesting study of Zen philosophy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)