Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
8
4.9 out of 5 stars
Natty Dread Taking Over - Reggae Anthology CD
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 6 August 2017
the recording on these cds are exceptional really brings culture out loud and clear. the tracks are all the best ones you will love these cds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2016
Wicked tunes I love culture... jah rastafari...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
This is an amazing CD, Culture is a classic group , it was well packaged and delivered very quickly, thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Great double cd.Culture all day every day. Great service, thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Brilliant cd, haven't stopped playing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
Great tunes, brilliantly produced, excellently pressed. A great-sounding box-set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
This is an anthology of Culture's music which has some great music on it needless to say, although as ever with a favourite group in any genre you could argue for weeks over whether this or that hot track should have been included or not. But the main reason for giving this compilation five stars, even before I have listened to all of its two CD discs, or indeed watched the bonus Culture live DVD, is the inclusion of the monumental "Africa Stand Alone" album, quite rightly a reggae legend, for the first time on CD. The nine tracks that make up this album are all excellent but it features two of my favourite songs of all time in probably their best and original versions, namely "Garvey Rock" and "Innocent Blood". After listening to the powerful sincerity of Joe Hill and his singing partners' voices on these two songs if you still stand on the side of evil-doers then hang your head in shame. True and mighty roots rebel music and words which still bring a tear to my eye so many years after I first heard them. Joseph Hill(rest in peace) was a great talent and a much-mourned loss. The amazing thing about "Africa Stand Alone" is that it still retains its power even after many, many repeat listens and "Behold The Land" is such a great conclusion (love the little dub fade out!). The stripped-down production, which gives the album a real pure feel, may surprise Culture fans more used to bells and whistles production jobs of Joe Gibbs or Sonia Pottinger. Most of the songs were re-recorded for later Culture albums and singles but this album has a charm and simplicity all of its own which if you have never sampled before, I envy you the experience. And don't worry, the music quality is excellent.

What more can I say? Other Culture classics included on this set include "Two Sevens Clash", "Baldhead Bridge", "Stop This Fussing and Fighting", "Natty Never Get Weary", "The International Herb", "Addis Ababa" and "Why Am I A Rastaman?", too much to list or describe here. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy, and a big pat on the back for whoever is putting together thise excellent Culture compilations and getting so much great material that deserves to be heard out there and available to music fans. Already a fan? Then I don't need to convince you and you probably have most of this stuff already! New to Culture's music - your musical eduction starts here. Oh yes.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
Yes yes yes! Great to hear the rarer stuff such as Garvey Rock and tracks such as More Vacancy done better in their original form Culture should have been bigger than Marley in my book And those who claim them to be Burning Spear copyists should hang the shoe on the other foot... Marvellous stuff with a few samey tracks One omission for me is One Stone, a later track with the sum of Culture's mission statement declared in one song- also an indicator that whereas Burning Spear just got blander and blander, Mr Hill wasn't over it - he still wrote the occasional great tune Culture- love it!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)