Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2013
Beware that adding Windows 8 Pro Pack does not give you the same result as a pure Windows 8 Pro installation. In particular, 'Remote Desktop Connection' (one of my primary reasons for purchasing Windows 8 Pro Pack) does not work correctly for non-administrative users, whereas apparently it works fine for a pure Windows 8 Pro installation (precisely because 'Windows 8' + 'Pro Pack' gives you a different OS configuration to 'Windows 8 Pro').

This is a bug in the Pro Pack (which will doubtless be fixed in due course), but I wonder how many other differences there are between 'Pro Pack' and a pure 'Pro' installation?
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
Firstly, this item is just a key to enable the Windows 8 **PRO** features for people (like me) who have the standard (non-Pro) version of Windows 8 - likelyhood is you bought a new PC and it came with standard Windows 8 already installed. If you need the Pro features such as Hyper-V, encryption, recieve remote desktop connections, need to connect to a Windows domain and Media Centre then this is a low cost way to get you upgraded. Certainly better value than buying directly from Microsoft who advertise a price of £99!

If you have an earlier version of Windows (7, Vista, XP) then you need to look at a full version (or full upgrade version) of Windows 8 / Pro, not this, as this product requires Windows 8 Standard to already be installed on your PC, hence the much cheaper price.

Secondly, shame about all the negative Windows 8 comments against this product - not helpful. If you are here to get the Pro upgrade you already have Windows 8 and don't want to read reviews that are focusing on some peoples dislike of change/new Windows/Metro or what ever they choose to moan about. Thankfully there are two or three real reviews for this upgrade product. As most people find with Windows 8, once you learn what's new and different, you will more than likely appreciate the productivity benefits and improvements and won't ever look back on the older versions of Windows.
44 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Windows 8 is not so bad, so there is no start menu get over it, it was rubbish anyway. The start screen is far better even on a PC with no touch screen. I have it running on mine and it is much quicker to find apps and files without reading a crowded start menu. I also found a good book that introduces windows 8's features Using Windows 8 (Computer Training).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Note: You do need to have a working OS to upgrade such as Windows Vista, with a current key, asthis producy gives an upgrade key.You will have to install Windows 8 from elsewhere such as a download upgrade or in my case another disc I used on another PC but could not use the same key on two machines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Fair price for the upgrade, and now updated to W8.1 Pro, plus Update 1 coming soon. One installed properly is fast & stable if you switch off the metro crap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
My wife bought me a new Laptop for christmas, and it came with the newest Windows 8 release as its operating system, however it was just the basic user version, ie, didnt have windows media center or bit locker software, 2 programnes i use often, but this product was an easy fix and very cheap. I would recommend this if you want to update your basic windows 8 operating system, to Windows 8 pro version. Warning you will need to have the basic version of windows already on your PC or Laptop. Or this waont work, ie, you can not use this to upgrade from windows 7. For that you need to buy the full version of Windows 8, which is quite a bit more expensive. This was an easy product to use, what you get is basicly a new operating system KEYCODE, and on your home screen just type in "add new windows features" and click on settings and you will be asked if you want to buy a new KEYCODE, or I already have a New KEYCODE, you will click the second option, and just enter the code that came in the box, it will then check the code, via the internet, and after verfying the code is genuine, it will proceed to install your newest features making your win 8 basic, win 8 pro. it only takes about 25mins from start to finish and doesnt require a great deal of computer knowledge, it is simply click and install, very easy to do at home. Hope this has helped, Enjoy!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
For Microsoft this is a useful extension to Windows 8 in-build OS and 'does as instructed' in the product description.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
On a Tablet it may be ok; but on my laptop it is clumsy. I shouldn't struggle to find the Shutdown function or the control panel. A number of programs I found myself terminating by using the Task Manager - whats wrong with a simple close option?
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
Microsoft have for years now treating their loyal pc customers like crud, Poor software, poorer customer service. They are now concentrating on their consoles and are no doubt wanting to leave behind the core part of their business, They have created windows 8 something that works well on mobile devices, and on Xbox 360 but on a desktop pc is awful. A lot of the boxes wont move properly with a mouse, some are hidden and are hard to locate. The ease of use and funcionality of windows 7 has been replaced and is terrible and cluncky, as someone on here said its a step backwards.

Would be nice if Microsoft shows some appreciation for the customers that have kept them going over the years and funded their foray into the console world. Instead we are getting left out and forgotten once again. The guy who created windows 8 has just left wonder why? could it be the OS is awful on Desktop PCs. Microsoft have forgotten their roots and forgotten their core customer base. Stick to windows 7 on your desktop pc this OS is not designed for that its designed for mobile devices and touchscreen.
1111 Comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
brilliant also arrived next day as promised.thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here