Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
2,852
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£53.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2017
Had two of these in the last couple of months.First one started playing up taking far longer to complete the process than the countdown clock stated.Sent back and received a new one.The second one has worked for a number of weeks without issue,and while it worked correctly I loved the product.Makes soups quickly without hassle.
But the other night our house lights tripped,and all went off.After putting them back on again,I went to switch the soup maker back on and the lights all tripped again.Did it a third time when trying the machine in a different wall socket.
If this product was reliable I would probably give it five stars,as it isn't its lucky to get the two.This machine will also be going back to Amazon.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
Instructions in 4pt type - only readable by those with the very best eye-sight and completely useless for most over 60s

Then we have to learn a code to understand what the machine is doing. Tip for the Morphy Richards designers. If it's heating, it should say (guess what?) HEATING and if it's blending, it should say (guess what?) that's right, you're getting it, BLENDING. There is no reason whyvit shouldn't say what's happening, making it easy for anyone to understand.

Making the ON/OFF switch the same button as the SELECT switch makes no sense whatsoever:

Essentially this is a kettle and a blender in one. Surely the user should come first and usability / legibility / readability be made a priority. The soup it makes is fine - but that's a given. It should be a given, however, that the user doesn't have to think (and certainly doesn't have to learn a code) to use it.

Poor show from the Morphy Richards designers.
review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2017
Absolute garbage. Had 2 and both broke. Also it does not blend very well at all. Stick to the pan, hob and masher! This product is a poor kettle with a tiny blade in it that is hopeless.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Do not buy this soup maker I've brought one in Nov 2014 it was replaced in Jan 2015. When the first one stopped working Dec 2015 the second one stopped working and the company will not do anything about it. So do not buy its not worth the money and not fit for purpose.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Makes brilliant soup. Put in some water before you put in vegetables so that they don't stick and burn. Very disappointed to find after eighteen months that it just stopped working though - will boil but not chop - and the manufacturer doesn't answer my complaint. I will probably look for another brand as a replacement, with better customer service.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
Bought as a present for my wife who fell-in-love with a friends soup maker. Works superbly and the results are excellent. A couple of comments:
1. There are very few soup recipes included with the soup maker why? Come on Morphy Richards, adding a recipe booklet would add little to the cost but a great deal to the product. Instead we have to resort to the internet.
2. In many, many cases the few recipes that are included instruct you to fry onions in a pan, or cook this, or roast that. If you have to get a pan out to start the soup making off, it does detract from the one-for-all gadget. If one does have to fry onions or red peppers etc, why not have the stainless steel kettle part so you can place this directly on your cooker and then fry or cook the required ingredients in the soupmaker. At least this would reduce the washing-up.

In summary, a great gadget for the easy, simple soups that don't need ingredients to be pre-cooked and the ones that we have tried have been great, creamy, smooth and delicious.
Easy to clean - but I would recommend tracking-down the easy-to-prepare soup recipes that don't need additional preparation in other pans.

Two additional comments having used for some time. The lid, which has the mixer and motor in it, has to be removed for some recipes whilst you add ingredients. The lid is very awkward to lay down, The rounded handle means that you cannot stand it upside down, and as it has sharp blades, you really need to endure that it rests somewhere where the blades cannot scratch anything. It would enhance the design, if there were a clip on the side of the main jug where you could 'hang' the top whilst you add later ingredients.
You also need to be careful when you lift the 'lid' motor section off after it had been through its heating cycle as condensation is formed inside and this easily runs off into the electrical socket - especially if you lift it off with the 'lid' section inclined towards this. Easily done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
One of the best kitchen appliances I have ever used. We haven't yet made a soup we haven't enjoyed. Well worth the money and the time it takes to make is minimal. It also means that you know exactly what you are eating, no hidden ingredients that manufacturers use to extend the shelf life of the soup. I make batches and freeze, which works well too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
Really looking forward to delivery of my soup maker which was next day , thanks to prime. However, followed all instructions and half way through the cooking process - all electricity tripped out. This was repeated several times. In the end we ended up with half cooked soup and we were all totally stressed. Have returned to Amazon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Bought thus for my mum and dads 65th wedding anniversary. They have made a few different soups, including out of date broccoli and Stilton. Which they said wasn't as nice... so my dad made this week a broccoli and cheddar with all ingredients in date. They said it was really lovely.
Really easy to use and clean.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
Before I purchased this soup maker, my wife and I would make a lot of soups. And without wanting to blow on our own trumpets, they were pretty darn good. But they took time, and time is a precious commodity, so we were recommended this soup maker by a friend. They raved about it, and we even got to sample it, pretty good!

It's very easy to use. It looks like a kettle, albeit a big one. You just chop up a bunch of veg/spices, throw it in, add water, set the program and off you go. It'll be ready in approximately 20-25 minutes. You can choose a chunky setting or a smooth setting. The smooth setting delivers a decent enough soup. However, the chunky setting is always quite watery.

I guess my biggest problem with this soup maker is flavor - we often taste the soup after the program has finished and chuck it into a pan and add more seasoning. And this is to be expected, it's a soup maker, not a chef! Just don't expect too much, especially if you're a good cook and accustomed to great flavor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 181 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)