Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
82
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2015
This is book 4 in the series and I am finding them a bit hit and miss. This book is really good and has the reader gripped. Linda has made an excellent job of making this book stand alone while still continuing the series, a knack that was definitely missing in book 2. the series is centred around the Amish faith and builds the readers knowledge steadily throughout the series. This story is about teenagers within the faith who have gone 'off the rails' and go missing. The suspense builds throughout the book and it is about 3 chapters from the end before the abductor/s is/are revealed. But then in the next chapter Linda throws in a curve ball which I don't think works hence the 4 stars instead of 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Another in the Kate Burkholder series. Once into the book you don't want to put it down. The twists & turns in Kate's personal life as well as her professional life keep you guessing as to the outcome. Linda Castillo is a brilliant author & appears to have done her homework into the Amish community which brings the story line together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2016
Thank you so much for a fantastic story which has been difficult to put down at times, notwithstanding the scary bits!.
What great series this is of Kate Burkholder Chief of Police, a fascinating insight into the lives of some of the Amish people, and small town in America.
Found the stories by accident how fortunate am i , thank you Linda Castillo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Very repetitive theme and similar storyline to other books. I would only recommend buying this if it was on offer.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
I find these books hard to put down, stories well told and fast moving I enjoy the sub plot of the relationship between Kate and John and look forward to reading more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
ARRIVED BEFORE DELIVERY DATE, GOOD QUALITY BOOK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
Am a fan of the Kate Burkholder books. Well written, great descriptions and plots. Does not waffle and wander assome authors seem to. Am looking forward to her next book in this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the first book I have read by Linda Castillo. I saw it on the supermarket shelf whilst doing my shopping. I am so glad I did, as it is seriously good.

The book draws you in from the onset, where a young Amish girl called Becca tells us a bit about her childhood and family. All too soon we read of her tragic suicide.

The book then goes to Amish born Kate Burkholder, who is the Chief of Police in Painters Mill. Although brought up as Amish, as she got older, the English, city way of life appealed to her and that was the life she followed. Subsequently having left the plain life, Kate was excommunicated.

Being ex-Amish and fluent in Pennsylvania Dutch, means that Kate is an extremely useful member of the Police Force and in assisting the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation. There is a huge divide between the English and Amish communities and Kate's expertise and background goes a long way in bridging the gap. She is invited to consult on a case of Amish missing persons - teenagers that have gone missing, working with John Tomasetti with whom she has worked with previously.

The book is full of suspense and intrigue as the investigation into the 3 missing Amish teenagers progresses. There is a good insight into the Amish way of life and how difficult it is to penetrate into their world, to get them to open up and talk.

To tell you about the ins and outs of the story will most surely spoil the book for you, but be assured it is fast moving and very descriptive. The ending is one huge surprise!

It is like a Stephen King book and is just brilliant, I could not put it down. It would make an excellent movie for the large screen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
After reading the first three books and loving them, I found this book a real disappointment, this book just dragged on and the style of writing had changed from the previous ones, could not wait to finish this book but for all the wrong reasons.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse