Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 22 March 2017
Hi folks,

This is quite excellent in it's content and presentation, and stands up to any similar documentary of which I have seen to date (with the exception of "The World At War").

The sound and visual quality is perfectly fine; and it is not plagued by a loud distracting soundtrack like so many 'PBS America' documentaries are. And of course Robert Powell makes a grand job in his off screen dialogues.

My only criticism would be that it moves very fast, and so I would not recommend it to anyone who does not have previous knowledge of WWII. Personally, I think the series could have been a little more spaced out, allowing the viewer more time to digest the information. The narration is practically non-stop, which does get very tiring! But as stated, this is a superb little package and definitely well worth a 5 STAR rating.

I would be interested to find out how long each episode actually is in this DVD series, because I am sure these are longer than the 60 x minutes each versions from the 'UK History Channel'?

Hope this helps . . .

Best,

Paul David Seaman (UK)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2017
Excellent in many respects. The colourisation is an outstandingly well done feature and the use of maps showing the progress of the war. Robert Powell's narration should have been the icing on the cake. Unfortunately it lets the whole thing down because his voice is frequently indistinct and tends to tail off particularly at the end of sentences where the music and sound effects drown out his words. I found myself straining to try to hear what he was saying and rewinding to try to decipher what he was saying. This spoiled what would have otherwise been a marvellous viewing experience so I have to mark it down from five stars to four stars. This is an upgrade from an earlier review where I had marked it down to two stars. Having watched it right the way through, I now consider my previous rating too harsh because, despite my criticism of the inaudibility of the narration in places, it is in all other respects such an outstanding production that it is well worth having and watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2014
This is basically an account of the whole war, starting with the end of World War 1, and ending with The allies and the soviets dividing up europe and berlin.

It's all colour footage, with dates, troop numbers and major events being chronicled. This is the one with the brittish narrator. It's a good buy.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2017
I know it's had some bad reviews, but I watched this on Netflix and was impressed how it told the story quite concisely yet in some depth. If that makes sense. Odd time they use the same footage for different aspects. Purchased for a friend, sure he will like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2014
Does what it says on the cover, mostly new colour footage not seen on TV before, some black and white colour tinted but ok.

Would recommend this for the early war in North Africa with the Italians.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2015
Excellent series. No doubt that the very icon about the whole world war 2 is "The world at war". I gave it 5 stars because I can't give 10. However, this one (WWII in colour) is very good , with references to some facts less knonw as the Spain civil war and Mussolini intervention in Abyssinia and its implications with ww2. All in all an excellent buying and a must to have to anyone that likes to understand the different aspects concerning the second world war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2017
We've been watching this documentary on TV and had been trying to find it stateside, to no avail. On a whim , I checked your website and VIOLA you had it. We have purchased a DVD player ( which was not expensive) to play the documentary. Wonderful! This is the Best Documentary ever made on WWII and Mr. Robert Powell is clearance concise. I was promised to receive it within a certain time and I received it 3 days before the due date. Everything worked out wonderfully! Thank you Amazon UK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2016
This is a great series that, though limited in time explains WWII, how it started, and implications of a lot of the participants various moves. This series was shown (in the U. S.) on AHC, but, due to advertising, was cut to 40 minutes per episode instead of the 50-51 minutes of original length. Over the course of 13 episodes that's 130 minutes, like getting two more episodes for free. Those extra 10 minutes really smoothed out the presentation and filled in some of the gaps that appeared in the original broadcast.
The program is a Region 2 DVD but my players are region free so there was no problem playing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2017
A very well done set of WW2 dvds
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2014
A suprisingly good colourised documentary series, with an equally good voice over by Robert Powell. While perhaps not quite matching the 1970s World At War series with voice over by Laurence Olivier, this set is cheap enough and the added colour does seem to reduce the 60 years since this unbelievable madness was played out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse