Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
34
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2015
Classic piece of literature, something for the selfie generation to read and reflect on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
A true classic and a definitive piece of writing for anyone wanting to leave the rat race of modern life and turning towards a path of independence, all from an author who was way ahead of his time in critical thinking. A great read!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2016
Sometimes you run across a book that has the power to really inspire you. This is one of those books. But like anything worth having, you have to work hard at it, so if you're expecting an easy read, then this probably isn't for you. The prose is archaic and heavy going in places. But if you can keep ploughing through, you will be rewarded with some remarkable insights into the mind of an extraordinary character. Although the language sounds dated, the themes Thoreau touches on could not be more contemporary as he speaks of the traps we make for ourselves with our consumerism, our fundamental need to connect with nature and the evils of invasive government. This is a really thought-provoking and inspirational work that will reward you time and again as you return to its pages.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
I enjoyed this book in that it made me think about different modes of living, including my own. I would have preferred if the English was rough up to date; there were too many archaic words, even the punctuation was archaic and confusing at time. But other than that it's been a truly inspirational thought exercise which I would recommend l anyone with a good grasps of English.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
Although set in the mid 19th Century, this philosophical work touches on matters that still resonate today. Can a man live without the trappings of modern life? Are we caught in a treadmill of work to get possessions and status. Without wishing to trivialise matters, fans of the 1970's Sit Com The Good Life might recognise the desire to escape the rat race.

The book is much more than that and there are some lyrical decriptions of life by Walden Pond including sights and sounds. It will make you thin about what truly matters in your life.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
he seems to have some kind of grudge against old women (perhaps didn't like his granny) but other than that, smart, thought provoking, interesting and very well written.

I owe a lot to this book, including my choice to become self sufficient and "live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Found it hard to read ... not my cup of tea. thought it would be a bit more bohemian and less dry
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Notes from the original American hippy dropout - who proposed living (rent free) in a railway tool box. Oddly enough he died quite young with no issue - So nice ideas - in places, but Darwinian selection, in his case - suggest his ideas be avoided.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
The quantity is not as good as I thought before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Great book for an amateur philosopher like me. Rich reading, and delightfully, honestly, old fashioned. Amused at how several 'everyday' phrases and 'proverbs' originated here!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)