Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 4 October 2016
Classic story which begins with the discovery of the ruins of a strange, deserted house somewhere on the Irish borders. Inside the house lies an old journal the contents of which act as a catalyst for what is to come. The journal belonged to a previous resident of the house and contains a story which could either chart the complete descent into madness or the story of haunting, hidden realms and time travel in which the Earth crashes towards it's final days only for the plot to turn around and take off in a different direction. The question of sanity v insanity is beautifully worked and intriguing as are the demonic creatures which enter in and out of the house as it topples above an abyss which seeks to swallow the building and entomb the residents in its cavernous depths. Chapter after chapter details endless time travel through surreal territories ranging from the surface of the planet to the outer edges of the universe. 'The House on the Borderland' is completely baffling. There's no real way to work it out or make any sense of it because the story is so fantastical and surreal but; I enjoyed the read and found some of the horror elements particularly dark and disturbing. I also enjoyed the concept of fantasy v reality which became quite unsettling. Well worth a read. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
The story within the story is a surreal, trippy mind bending and time twisting tale that takes you to the end of time and back whilst challenges your sense of sanity. A treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2012
This has to be my favourite hodgson work. It is filled with strange imagery, and is highly inventive. The horror related here is rather subtle, and persists throughout the tale. The terror is not of the blatant, 'in your face' type, but presents as a constant feeling of tension, and iminent threat. There is plenty of scope for discussion here, and a dozen reviewers might hold a dozen differing interpretations of the incidents which occur in and around,'The House on the Borderland'! Bottom line - a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2018
Intersting book but the typesetting was awful making it hard to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Led to believe after reading about book elsewhere it was frightening. It wasn't frightening just very strange.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2017
Excellent stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2017
Be prepared to shudder!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2017
Very good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2014
Never heard of William Hope Hodgson. Saw this book listed as free last week and thought I would give it a go.

WOW!!!!!! This book totally blew me away. It starts with 2 men going on a camping trip in Ireland to do some fishing. They go for a walk one day and stumble across the ruins of an old house. While there they find an old book buried under some rubble. They soon get creeped out and leave very quickly with the book. When they get back to camp they start to read the book and it turns out to be a journal belonging to a man who used to live in the house who is simply known as the Recluse. (Jon?)

What follows is a gothic journey though time and space. It features swine monsters which look like half man half pig who attack the house on a nightly basis. It features an underground cavern under the house which is a subterranean dream for any modern day pot holers. The middle section of this book is taken up with a surreal psychedelic nightmare about the death of the Sun and the end of the world that quite frankly must have been written by Mr Hodgson when he was off his head on some mighty fine mushrooms. It is just superb.

When I started to read this book I couldn't help but think the author had the gothic flavour and olde worlde language off to an absolute tee. It wasn't until I checked up on Mr Hodgson that I discovered this book was actually written in 1908! That in itself makes the surreal nightmare section about the end of the world an incredible piece of imaginative writing. In 1908 people didn't know about solar flares and the fact that the Sun will probably die some day and confine us all to our ultimate doom. This man either had a sixth sense or an incredibly accurate imagination.

This book will not be for everyone but if read with the clear understanding of when it was written, it should blow you away like it did with me. This version also seems to be permanently free on ebook.

A very easy 5 stars!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 November 2009
I thought this was a great read, I'd never heard of the author before but had seen it included in a horror listmania on Amazon which I'd tried other books from and enjoyed.

This edition is an Echo Library edition ([...]) and includes the authors introduction, the introduction and chapters themselves, a short poem called grief and endnotes. There is also a page about the echo library itself which are making sought after books available in a mass published format again, it is a slim volume and has a cheap and cheerful appearence, like a facsimile edition.

The story itself is written in a great olde style, combining reflection and description brillantly and giving a clue to a time which is long vanished, including its norms and values (when menaced by strange creatures our protagonist doesnt seek to summon the authorities, he simply reaches for his amply stocked gun rack and gives fight, in a literal sense his home IS his castle).

The main body of the book is a discovered and half destroyed journal recounting strange battle, unworldly or other dimensional travels and coming unstuck from time itself but the beginning and finish of the book are accounts of the discovery of the book itself in a strange ruin on a cliff above a big pit.

Comparisons have been made with H. P. Lovecraft, which is perhaps fair, the style of a first person narrative contained in a discovered journal, of spooky unexplained placed bordering another unworldly place, scant explanation for fantastical experience or bewildering creatures are all present. However, the book is very much a story in a number of parts, he first in which the protagonist defends his home from invading pig creatures (which may be a figment of his imagination somehow) could be considered comparable to Matheson or Philip K. Dick, the incidence of the house and protagonist becoming unstuck from time itself are actually like HG Wells and along side the time machine are probably the best time travel narratives I've read.

I'm not surprised that there are such mixed opinions give the different styles and story telling that are included in a single short volume but I felt there was a nice olde "take heart and have no fear" adventure styling all throughout. The ending was a little disappointing and I was ready for a much greater expansion of the tale into something else but I understood how it had to end as it did in order to fit with the discovery of journal and return to that point.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The King in Yellow

Need customer service? Click here