Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
23
This Is The Six
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 29 April 2017
Delivery before the deadline. Cool. I recommend 100%. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2012
After hearing all the hype about this album, Kerrang, Metalhammer, and Rocksound have been singing the praises, i can safely say that this album has surpassed all my expectations. I bought their mini-album "The North Stands For Nothing", and even though they were still relatively new to the heavy scene, they were unique and showed glimpses of something majestic. "This Is The Six" sees the band flourish into one of the most exciting prospects in British music since Bring Me The Horizon. Opening track "Dead Behind The Eyes" hits you straight from the start, its raging riffs backed by pounding drum work. "Seven Hills" would be my personal stand out track, as delicate melodies are layered over jarring fretwork, the whole song has an uplifting feel which i just love. The title track follows in a similar vein, although the guitars are firing like machine guns at the start, and then follow up interlude "The Chapel", is like a light breather before the second half of the album attacks once more. Old tracks like "Be(lie)ve" have been jazzed up with some melodies over the top, and "Love At War" is an emotional, euphoric rallying cry that echos the bands upbringing in Doncaster with its grim reality lyrics. "The Plague Of A New Age" would otherwise be just another song on the album if it weren't for Sean Long's sweeping solo, which hits like a rush of adrenaline.

To summarise, the album is done just right in every aspect. The whole band rule at unrelenting aggression yet when they reel it in a bit and play with harmonies (in particular Sean Long's guitar work and the piano parts)they make the song feel wholsome.
I would definately recommend this to anyone who has the following albums: Bring Me The Horizon "Suicide Season", Rise To Remain "City Of Vultures", Axewound "Vultures" or Trap Them "Darker Handcraft" :D
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2012
I have been following WSS's meteoric rise for a year since seeing them at Knebworth in 2011. After winning the Kerrang Award for best new British band and rave reviews in the music press, I wondered if they could produce an album worthy of their awesome live shows. I needn't have worried - this is a nailed on candidate for album of the year.

Sleeps reinvigorate metalcore with punk energy and their songs are grounded in the reality of their everyday lives, whether their hometown of Sheffield or the rigours of life on tour. It's really refreshing to see a metal band not retreating into a cliched fantasy world of swords or the occult.

From the crushing title track (don't put it on while driving!), through the anthemic Be(lie)ve, the focused social anger of Dead Behind the Eyes to the doomy Reunite, the band have produced an album with an astonishing musical range and great subtlety to go with the ferocious intensity which has been their hallmark. Hell, they have even made space for an instrumental - The Chapel, vocal harmonies and the piano, showing they are unafraid to be different.

If you buy one album this year, make it this one. And go and see one of their live shows. You won't know what's hit you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2013
While She Sleeps have captured the energy and power in this recording. I'm quite selective about the music I like, especially when it comes to vocals. The precision of the musicians is awesome, and ok, the vocals are 'screaming' but fit perfectly. My favourite track is 'This Is The Six'.
I'm looking forward to seeing them open the Main stage on Friday of the Reading Festival this year - this will be even better live.
I'm a fan of lots of different Rock music - but I guess this is more the Thrash metal end of things, if you like (early) Metallica, Slipknot, Bring Me The Horizon, Soil, The Amity Affliction etc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2013
If you're into heavy rock/metal, this is a fantastic album. It's quite often fast paced and frantic, but also at times quite calm and thought provoking, but always well written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2013
Let me first say that I am not normally into this genre. Perhaps this is the start of something new, or maybe it's just a frickin' awesome band that any fan of any genre can enjoy. There's so much energy and meaning in these tracks and the lyrics, it's hard not to sit back and admire the great album.

I'm not particularly good at analysing albums track by track for their musical skill, but I really like This Is the Six, Our Courage Our Cancer and False Freedom. Give it a listen, hopefully you won't regret it either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2013
There seems to be a bit of a hype around While She Sleeps being then next big thing in UK metal. Thought I'd try them out. Whilst in the same territory as BFMV and Trivium, they have enough to stand out from the crowd. The tracks are different from each other, there is a Jazz Coleman esque sound to the vocals which compliements the music and they even combine what can only be described as football chants. Don't be put off by that, it does suit the music. An enjoyable album all told and looking forward to the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2013
Excellent album I'm not a lover of this genre of the metal scene BUT... I thought i'd give it a go after hearing This Is The Six on Kerrang and I must say the whole album is excellent well put together well worth a listen !! Give it a go !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2013
This is a classic in the making an absolute blinder from start to finish been meaning to buy it for a while now and am now so glad I did. I would say that fans of Gallows and BMTH would not be disappointed .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2014
An awesome all killer no filler album by a young up & coming British band with tons of potential for a long successful future. A great time for British metal music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

You Are We
£9.99
Brainwashed
£5.99
Sempiternal
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)