Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2013
Sterling Archer is back on top form as the bumbling, self-absorbent albeit smooth talking secret agent. It's pretty much the only adult animated series that's still fresh! If you've seen the previous series you will not be disappointed here with these 13 laugh-a-minute episodes of sheer delight.

It's a two-disc set as per usual with some weighty special features to relish including; Heart of Archess, The Movie, Book-on-Tape Fail, Cooking with Archer, Gator 2-Trailer, Commentary on Select Episodes and Archer Season 3 at Comic Con 2012. Also with English subtitles.

And conclusively, the DVD is in NTSC format. However this shouldn't concern you as it plays flawlessly on my PAL DVD player so it should yours. Highly recommended DVD!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 February 2015
The creator of this show has called it 'Arrested Development meets a spy spoof'. A pretty good sum up. This has some of the absurdist, insane feel of 'Sealab' or 'Venture Brothers', but also grounds it in richer characters.

By nature this kind of wild, raunchy, ribald, gross, un-PC, very clever joke a second romp is going to be a hit or miss affair, but the batting average in 'Archer' is surprisingly high, and a lot of the wordplay is really sharp.

The show grows each season, getting ever funnier, and having the characters and situations branch out in some great unexpected ways. From what started out in season 1 feeling like it would be a one joke idea that would quickly wear out, this somehow found a way to transcend and use the audience familiarity with the characters not to just repeat the same jokes, but to walk a great tightrope of giving what is expected, but then finding a way to just push it one step further. By season 3 the show is really consistently full of surreal hilarity.

Another big plus here is the voice acting. The whole cast is terrific, as are the many guest stars that show up. The fun they all seem to be having doing the show is infectious, and they manage to give their characters a surprising amount of range. Special credit has to be given to H. Jon Benjamin, along with the writers, for making the egotistical idiot of a lead not only very funny, but somehow also likable enough that he never wears out his welcome.

If you like animated insanity, this is very much worth checking out to see if it's for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
Whilst you'd never want to work with a team like ISIS, watching them in action is an absolute joy. No matter how straight-forward the mission seems, you can guarantee the world's greatest agents, at least by their own description, will make hard work of it. Eminently quotable dialogue, but probably only at the risk of your own job, even with those who have seen it and know where the words are coming from.
If you can swallow long, hard spy-action all night long, this will be right up your alley ("Phrasing").
Assuming you've watched seasons 1 and 2, it's basically more of the same though still feels fresh, with plenty of new pop references and through delving into the characters' unsalubrious (and unsanitory) pasts in the midst of unbelievably weird scenarios. Awesome, but bizarre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Archer is a very funny show that knows what it is, crazy storylines and funny lines. The show is about Sterling Archer - the world's greatest spy and the other agents of ISIS (International Secret Intelligence Service). Archer is a suave and incredibly self-centered master spy that has to deal with global espionage and a controling and emotionally distant mother who is also his boss, Malory Archer. Archer must also must deal with his ex-girlfriend and fellow ISIS agent, Lana Kane as well enemies within the international spy world.

In this season 3 Archer's nemesis, Bionic Barry, takes over the KGB, and Archer's mother has steamy affairs with both the Italian prime minister and Archer's man-crush. Packed with outrageous operations and irreverent intrigue, Season Three comes armed to the teeth with exclusive, highly classified animated extras. The show is very well written and has some great lines in it. I enjoy the show and found myself laughing out loud many times during this season's episodes. I would definitely recommend this season of Archer to others.

Thank you for reading my review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
First 2 series the best, 3,4,5,6 didn't even make me smile, Frisky Dingo is the best thing Adam Reed has done, kinda surprised it hasn't been cancelled yet, and a seventh series to come...and Frisky Dingo only got 2 short series, utterly bewildered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
I love Archer!! Fun, classically designed, yet with modern twists and insane, talented, and original characters, it's a flawless series. You can tell they enjoy writing and working on it, and it shows. Still waiting for season four though. Yes, there is the US import, but I want the real UK thing.

Lana? Lana? Lana? LANAAAAAAAAAA!?!!?!?
Danger Zone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
After watching this series on Five *, I discovered there were two seasons before and so I purchased those.
Three months ago, on a whim, I bought this season and it is pure genius!

Archer is the best dunder-headed secret agent ever. I truly hope there is going to be a fourth season. If you are reading this you either know how damn good it is or have heard and are curious.

Delivery was really quick and I can't stop laughing every time I watch it.

I hope this will assist with your purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
The only Negative side to this is the 5 or 10 mins of anti Piracy adds at the start..
ARGH!! Ive bought it so why is it telling me not to accept pirate copies and buy it.
this seems to be the same for all DVD's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
lived up to its hype, i needed to know what happened with Archer and his cohorts. i kept missing it as it was on a little known tv channel and at silly o'clock at night. this season took ages to get released in the UK. whereas the previous 2 were on sale 48 hrs after the last episode on UK telly. really funny and covers issues and language which couldnt be done with live humans. a lot of laughs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Quick delivery and good packaging.

All in all if you like archer then this is one of the funniest yet. Very edgy at times but the humour is off the wall.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)