Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2013
This 3rd gen CPU is great, and now haswell (4th-gen) is out its great value too.

I upgraded from my laptops 'i7 1.7 GHz quad core' which was no slow beast, but this blows it away. I simply took the solid state drive from laptop and put it into my PC and now it hardly even has time to finish animating the windows logo before it loads the login screen.

Its also comes with a 'intel i5' sticker, attached on the back of the booklet.

One thing disappointed me though, and thats the clarity of information regarding the built-in GPUs that Intel processors accommodate.

I was in two minds on whether to get the 3570 or the 3570K(overclocking version), after many forums say the K version is just for overclocking i went with 3570. £8 cheaper, so why not. It was only later that i found the 3570 features a 'HD 2500' GPU built-in and the 3570K comes with a 'HD 4000' GPU. I believe the 4000 is about twice as powerful as the 'HD 2500'.

While it doesn't really affect me too much as i have a powerful separate GPU, people looking at these CPU/GPU hybrids to avoid buying a separate GPU might also miss this subtle difference, losing out on a significant graphics improvement.

The moral is, read the fine print even if its the same model lol.

Edit (07-2013): I have managed to run 'League of Legends' on the internal GPU (HD 2500) at 1080p. I got a good 30-40fps, though on low graphic settings.
Recommend lowering default fan speed of 'full on all the time', which is a bit loud. Auto speed lets it run quieter while not under heavy load.

Edit (08/2013): Got Battlefield 3 running. With everything on max (1980x1080) runs at an average of 90fps and just over 70C.
One thing i didn't like is the cooler the CPU comes with. When the CPU gets around 60-70C the cooler starts to work hard and makes a little buzzing sound. I guess its quiet enough for most, but i find that sort of thing annoying. I have since replaced it with a Noctua NH-U12S. Bit of an impulse buy, but its dead quiet and CPU hasn't gone over 60C since.

Update(09/2014): Just an update to say the CPU is capable of running all the modern games of today. Strongly recommend if your making, what is now, a budget PC. Will re-update when Destiny, Star Citizen, Witcher 3, The Division, GTA V get a test. Comment if i forget and your still interested in this CPU.
GTA V update: Runs 60fps no problem, GPU is holding me back now :(
55 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
A major boost to my home PC. Needed something with a bit more grunt to play Elite Dangerous. Be careful when ordering Intel chips to make sure the socket matches your main board. I nearly made the mistake of buying a CPU with a 1150 socket instead of a 1155.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
i`m running it in the BitFenix ​​Prodigy Mini-ITX case with the evga mini itx stinger motherboard 8gb ddr3 600w micro psu ..EVGA GTX 670 FTW card and running it on the stock cooler temps are 40c idle
and running games like m.o.h warfighter 72c ..I was using the h60 in it but the pump failed ...:-( so used the stock cooler witch is working all good
so all in all it is a dam good cpu for the price if you don`t want to over-clock as i dont see the point in overcloking at the mo as all games are running fine its more about the gpu not the cpu these days...Happy Gaming
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
I looked at a lot of reviews and benchmarks and found this guy to be the best of the bunch had it about 3 weeks now and has handled everything I have thrown at it without breaking sweat I have world of warcraft running in ultra DX 11 and get around 96 fps nearly all the time skyrim runs at ultra as well and is butter smooth not sure what els I can say except unless you going to fork out for a realy top end cpu this guy is the best around at time of this review at least in terms of single core performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
Its a great item and well worth the money. If you have the 2nd gen equivalent, then DONT upgrade, but if you have anything below it, then this will give you the speed boost you want. Item came soon, in minimal, but safe package. Works great, no complaints.

One thing i would like to point out is that the cooling compound on the heatsink is garbage, might as well be without and I would recommend, highly to buy a termal compound for ~3 pounds. (remove the old one first!). I had nearly 15° drop when i used a brand grease.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
The Intel core i5 3570 CPU is a very fast and efficient processor. The reason I bought this instead of the Intel Haswell series is due to the high cost. The Intel core i5 4670 (the Haswell CPU that I would have bought) was priced around £200 at the time. There wasn't too much of a performance difference to deem it worth the extra £50. Now, I think that the Intel core i5 4670 in the one to get as it is cheaper than it was. This means that the added performance that the 4670 gives is now worth the tiny bit of extra money, because it is cheaper.
After a few benchmarks and four months of use with this CPU, I can honestly say that for the price, it will be quite difficult to find something better at this price point. It is a very reliable CPU and has very good technologies built in, in order to make the experience of using it better. Things like hyper-threading and the Z77 chip-set that is embedded in my motherboard makes this CPU faster and more efficient than a normal quad core CPU, with a base clock of 3.4 gigahertz like the AMD Athlon 750k.
These technologies also help it to be energy efficient, for example the Intel core i5 3570 has a maximum wattage of 77, where as a normal quad core 3.4 gigahertz CPU, like the AMD Athlon 750k uses a maximum wattage of 100. The only problem that people have had with this CPU, which I do not encounter, is the integrated GPU inside the processor isn't very good, however it probably isn't noticeable if you aren't doing anything graphically intensive, or you are putting in a separate dedicated GPU.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
built my self a new pc with this beaut and well i game almost every day and it awesome. no complains although only been in use for a few weeks sooo.. hmmmm. try it.. i have
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Great i5 Processor, has no problem running high performance games, and it also comes with a fan, heatsink, and thermal paste applied! Would definitely recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
great product for its price, anyone who doesnt want to over clock but also have a quad core system for games, this is reccomended!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Using it now, and theres no problems at all, just want to know if a 'Intel i5' sticker is meant to come with the product
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse