Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2017
A number of reviews say this book is hard going but don’t panic, it is not at all scientific. There isn’t a single chemical formula and no lengthy explanations of what the bacteria and yeasts are doing. Occasionally there are some long words (names of bacteria etc) but most of these are followed with a short explanation and Wikipedia fills the gaps.
This is one of those books that are nice to handle and enjoyable to read. It presents a good anthology of ferments from around the world but it is not a recipe book. Quantities are often provided but they are a mix of gallons (probably US gallons), cups (probably 240 ml) and metric. It’s a pity that all measurements aren’t by weight but it doesn’t matter too much because the process is so simple and adaptable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Ooooo. This is a treasure of a book. I read it for pleasure as well as for practical tips. It has introduced me to different fermentations, refined those I was already working on, and generally inspired me. He's down to earth, and his explanations are clear but detailed, so you're neither dumbed down to or bamboozled. Such a well written, researched and inspirational book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Great reference book. I only bought this as starting to ferment in earnest, I thought I " ought to " . I have thoroughly enjoyed reading it and often refer back.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2017
This book is amazing and very well written, a joy to read and lots of information that will expand your culinary knowledge.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
Amazing to learn how common the use of fermented food products is around the world.Full of practical info based on writer's experience.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
I defy you to put this book down. If you are interested in preserving fermented vegetables then this is the book for you.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
If you are into fermenting foods or drinks of any sort, this is a ‘must-have’. it is the definitive book on the subject, and is an essential read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2017
Everything you need to know about fermenting and more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
Very inspiring. After reading this in went back to making kraut and got some very good results. Tasty and nutritious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Very interesting book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)