Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2014
Sort of book you can dip in and out of... I read this on the bus on the way to work... its better than staring out the window .its a lot better than staring out the window... its funny in parts although i did skip the bits where its written like a comic with speach balloons coming out of cartoon pictures mainly cos the print was too small to read. I guess I didnt miss much .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Karl needs to work on his writing as the books are becoming repetitive in their style and his moans are popping up again and again. I know we read things because we enjoy the style of writing but this is just a little too much of the same.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Well where to start ... he is one of the funniest men if ever seen I love how his brain thinks lol.... git to say when he smiles it don't look right lol a great read......can't wait yo read the next book...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
Reading at the moment and it's a funny and enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
bought as a Christmas gift for my son. He enjoyed the first book and the tv series so decided to get this one too. arrived promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
we are great fans of the tv programme and the book is just as funny so well worth a read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
Item as described, excellent postage and service. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
I've had this book as my travel book previously after watching the Idiot Abroad series on TV. I can simply say that Karl's sense of humour comes across even more in this book. He documents his adventures and the things that annoy him and most of the things do not make the TV series.

I would definitely recommend this book to you, if you are looking for the perfect book whilst travelling then this is the one for you. You will not be disappointed, 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2012
This book is a great companion to the second season of An Idiot Abroad. Rather than just write about the things that were in the program, Karl has opted to fill in the gaps and write about things that were not shown, and that was a brilliant decision. We get to see more detail of things that were hinted at in the TV program, transcripts of full conversations, and of course the extra bits that weren't shown on TV.

Karl's writing is excellent and very clear. The editor has taken the decision to leave the accented writing style alone, which I applaud, as it is easier to imagine Karl saying it, and is just more true to life - 'My Mum' becomes 'Me Mam' for example.

What really comes through in this book is Karl's absolute genius of making the mundane seem interesting, by looking at it in his own unique way. There is almost a laugh, or an insightful observation on each page. One example is when he writes of his time in the US, and performing the 'Glee' style dance. He says he struggled to keep in time with the other dancers, and was always slightly late with his moves. He didn't see it as a bad thing though, because he said he saw it as if he was performing a catch-up service for those that blink! This kind of thing is why I just adore Karl.

It's also so nice to read his free flowing thoughts directly, with no interruptions.

I recently saw him do a discussion with Michael Palin on the publisher's YouTube page, as they both have travel books out at the same time. I'd so love for them to do something together. It'd be a passing of the torch kind of thing. Karl could quite easily front a travel program without it needing to be a comedy. He'd be great too, because he tells it like it is.

If you love Karl, then you have to buy this book. It's as simple as that.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)