Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
46
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2012
This series has to be one of the best . If you are expecting graphic violence, blood, and fast paced crime- forget this series. Tom Selleck is Jesse Stone, and he brings this character, with flaws, doubts, strength to the screen. Love all the characters- Rose, Hat, and Hasty. The books of Robert Parker are tough to get into, but Tom Selleck brings them alive. These are slow moving episodes, character insight, atmosphere in buckets, brilliant music score, and the scenery of the coast makes one yearn for Nova Scotia! This is small town America ( or Canada), and so easy to slip into this scene. Each episode is complete, but best to start at the beginning, with Jesse Stone's arrival in Paradise, and the reasons.
A wonderful series, and easy to watch again. Not forgetting Reggie and his first dog.
Ordered from the US, arrived safely, and do need a multi-area player.
22 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
First of all his dog deserves an Oscar, I will bet he pulls your focus every time on the screen. No tricks just being there and supporting the magnificent Selleck. Obviously this is the continuing story of Jessie Stone's trials and tribulations. Outstanding supporting case as in the previous films. This film is not full of special effects, CGI takes a back seat thank God. The story is as involving as any of the others, I shall not give any hints. This is apparently the final one done for CBS, hopefully another network will take up this Selleck sponsored franchise, in fact the door is left open at the end of every film for for a further episode. I wish there were more stars available I can only give '5' to the power of 10 shall we say. Buy every one of these stories if you are wise and watch them again and again , they all dovetail together, rewarding your taste in buying.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
in my humble opinion tom selleck doesn't make a bad film or TV series
basic profile
Jesse stone is fired from a major American city police force due to being
drunk on the job, he applies and gets the position of police chief in a tiny town
called PARADISE with a population of just under 1000, he has a staff of 3-4
and mostly they deal with small crimes. Obviously he's over qualified for the job
but gets to grips with it, his drinking is his demon though he doesn't drink on the job he does in the home, also every day he talks to his ex wife jenny on the phone, he has numerous
relationships one ends in tragedy

a great riveting tv movies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
Throughout the films in the Jesse Stone series, the true strengths come from the scripts and the performances. The scripts are lean; no one ever uses ten words if two will do; and no one uses two words if silence serves better. It would be invidious to name only one member of the cast; all are masterly. Well, I will name one: the dog is a joy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
I wish the star Tom Selleck had made at least a few more of these fresh, innovative TV crime thrillers. I prefer this new series of his to the other one in which he played the part of a police commissioner. I could only manage to stomach watching the first episode, and even though was more than a trifle too boring for me!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
This is an excellent series, quality, one of the very best of US television and I very much hope they make more!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
The Tom Selleck "Jesse Stone" films are all gems - beautifully acted and produced. Real quality and they should be given recognition for their "watchability". I never miss them when they are on the schedules.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Total waste of my money.

Really disappointed that I cannot play this DVD on my machine.

Why advertise these DVD's on the amazon.co.uk site when they are NOT for use in UK.

Can anyone from Amazon answer this?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
Fantastic DVD. This whole series is one of the best I have ever watched . Tom Selleck is perfect as Jesse Stone, and really is first class in his role. Really enjoyable veiwing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
This is a fantastic dvd......, if you are a fan of Tom Selleck, then this is must for you.
I would definitely recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)