Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
164
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 February 2016
Cable came with drivers but no proper instructions. Installed various drivers after Google searches, managed to get the cable recognised and no errors. But when trying to connect to the retevis rt7 (same as baefung i believe ) radios, kept getting no connection error. Tried changing com ports, and different software, but could not get the cable to communicate with the radios at all. Seller refunded ( amazon won't allow me to say anything about the seller and their level of support). Looking elsewhere for cable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
Good value, comes with software (also widely available for free download). This is an essential accessory for the Baofeng radios like the BF-888S as it allows you to program them to work on the relevant licence free frequencies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
It mostly works okay with my UV-82 but absolutely doesn't with my UV-B5. There's something a bit twitchy re its function when it's working as sometimes it needs the UV-82 to be switched off/on during the process and sometimes - doesn't. It's cheap enough and when it works it works. But absolutely will NOT work with the UV-B5 - which to me is a very mixed bag of a radio, great receiver but a very bad joke of a screen and typically-Baofeng crappy programming function. AND - big problems programming via PC.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
A necessary accessory for the 888S and its' siblings as they can't be programmed manually. A virtual necessity for the UV5R as programming it manually would be incredibly painful.

USB end seems a little loose: I usually have to hold it into the USB portt while it's downloading/uploading config. Not a huge inconvenience, and for the price I guess some flaws are to be expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Okay! The item arrived early 24th of June as opposed to 14 July, great. The cable worked fine until after about 5 minutes use, the shell covering the USB circuitry and connector fell off! Not the best construction standards, but you would have thought they could have managed at least put a spot of glue on the shell halves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Not detected by two different Linux PCs at all, even though there is kernel support for genuine and fake Prolific chipsets baked in.
Also not detected by Windows 7 PC.
Returned. Easy return process. Thanks Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
arrived on time and worked first time, handy little cable to use when programming the Baofeng handie. I used the baofeng software as Chirp wouldnt play nice. appears to well made and no loose connections.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
The Baofeng data cable works very well - once the plastic casing on the plug which fits in the radio has been filed down a bit to make it slightly thinner so the plug fits properly in the radio. There are many threads on the internet about this - but it's very simple to resolve.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
This cable has allowed me to program all of my baofeng radios...all you need is the correct cable driver for the radio that you have got, and then the correct programming software for the same...well worth investing in one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Having tried a cable sent from Chine, struggled and failed to get it to work.
Purchased this from a UK supplier and using Baofeng own software not the
disc issued with cable, easily programmed 5 X BF888S units to use
public unlicensed frequencies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)