Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
443
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2015
Just purchase it and find out how amazing this film is... If you like action you will just buy this movie and watch it over again and again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
movie was good but you got to have a good surround sound otherwise it doesnt do it justice. watched it on 2 different systems one with a seperate amp and speaker package and once with a box standard lg 5.1 package. with the seprate package was able to get a full and ferce feeling when each punch was given
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
Quite simply one the greatest modern day action movies you will ever see. If you enjoy martial arts and fist pumping action, this is the movie for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Watch it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
Modern action films are pretty rubbish, a combination of nostalgia and Arnie means that hardly anything I watch today can compare to the glory of the 80s. The likes of The Stath come close, but it is a small Indonesian film that has come along and has been as good as the best, `The Raid'. Here is a film that mixes the violent gunplay of `Commando' with the realistic static action of the best Jackie Chan flicks. Iko Uwais stars as one of a group of police sent into a tower block to arrest the kingpin on the top floor. They must fight through every floor to progress and later to even survive.

Although Uwais is the star of this film, that acclaim should really go to writer/director Gareth Evans who ventured out from his native Britain to make films in Indonesia that have an edge these isles will never see. The basis of the film is extremely simple; an against the odds attack, but the execution is sublime. The film starts with tense stealth, moves onto gunplay and when the bullets run dry we only then get to see Uwais' martial arts skill. This gives the film a realistic feel as the characters take believable actions. However, the realism does not stop the film from having heightened violence, the action sequences are brilliantly filmed from a static position giving you an insight into the brutality.

One criticism of the film could be that Uwais is not quite the emotive actor needed to project the story of a man fighting to get back to his family, but seeing as Uwais does most of his talking with fist `n' foot this is not a big issue. `The Raid' is the type of action film how you imagine they used to be made; real action, intensity and most of all, great fun.

Sammy Recommendation
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Personally I thought this was a bit over rated. Yes its action packed but its the same action on every floor and I thought it a bit tiresome towards the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Received product quickly. The movie is the best action film of the last 10 years. Iko Uwais is someone to look out for in future films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Couldn't watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
A bit amateur but great fight scenes (according to my husband!). Sequel looks better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
The Raid is the Indonesian version of Dredd. I know this was released first but I couldn't get it out of my head! We follow a SWAT team who raid an apartment block in order to capture Pa-Pa, but the Pa-Pa clan aren't going to make it easy...(ok fine, no more Dredd references). One minute in and our main character is punching, elbowing and kicking a sand bag at 100mph. Bam! I was ready to sit back and watch a heck load of hand combat unfold. 40 minutes later, still no hand combat scenes...I was growing agitated. Thankfully though, the film turned around and our main character was battling his way through using only his body and knives. I'm talking full annihilation. Complete decimation. The residents did not stand a chance! Wham! Bam! Kapow! Swish! Slice! Followed by continuous noises as our characters fights to death. "Ah! Ehh! Phwoarrr! Hai! Ohhh!"...you get the gist. The action is pretty relentless, well executed and rapid. The choreography is insane. INSANE! There is one scene where two good guys are against one bad guy (apologies for the bland description) that goes on for six minutes. I have never seen so much flipping, kicks to the head, jump punches and head smashes to the floor...in my life. The bad guy in that scene is like the Indonesian Terminator, he just wouldn't die. The directing was good overall, not many quick cuts although the camera was particularly shaky during the first half. My problems with the film are with the plot conveniences and predictability. I don't really want to dive into it for spoiler reasons but if our main character is in a tricky situation, something would always happen to get him out. Any "twists" that were executed, were predictable and poorly constructed. Also some fight scenes in rooms have all the furniture right next to the walls, therefore leaving a massive open space for the fight. I would like to have seen them use the furniture to their advantage. Plus, I literally just watched it and don't know the main character's name. At all. Greatest action movie ever? No, but it's good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)