Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2017
Bought this as a result of it being on several "Books You Must Read" lists. I confess that I gave up on it. I found it virtually unreadable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Sorry, don't see the attraction. More difficult to follow than Dickens and less interest. Just couldn't get on with it at all.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Great Fun - even if you feel the need to skip bits or skim over other parts however much you read is so enjoyable. It's a bit like finding yourself in the 1700s and being talked to non-stop by someone who is rather eccentric, rather amusing, and definitely a bit rude - and still being interested to find out what happens next! Great fun.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
This is not one of my usual rambling reviews. Let's just say I loved it. As with Joyce's Ulysses, which I reviewed recently, this is a much funnier and more accessible book than its 'difficult' reputation would have you believe. The most remarkable elements are not the famous blank or black pages, wiggly lines etc. Above, all this is a book with brilliant, sympathetic and funny characters. In honour of Toby Shandy, if I see a fly in the house I now always try to usher it out of the window rather than trying to swat it: “Go, poor devil, get thee gone. Why should I hurt thee! This world is surely wide enough to hold both thee and me”.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
Tristram Shandy is a classic of humorous writing and probably the first post modern novel, written long before the term was even thought of. Just don't expect much of a plot!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
This is quite hard work to plough through, but worth it! As it costs £0:00 as a Kindle edition, there is no harm in "giving it a try".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
Wonderful to be able to get a copy and revisit the timeless humour of this unique classic,
Thank you, Amazon
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
Melvin Bragg's radio piece on him made me revisit a novel I struggled with long ago. What an extraordinary and singular work it it. It is the most modern novel I have read. LS rips upyour ideas of conventional narrative and makes digression the driving force of his plot. If you put your prejudices aside and take a deep breath, this is a novel with vast confusing, wonderful scope.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
one of the great books and to be honest, a real struggle. nobody quite knew what a novel would be back then and it surely shows! Worth the effort and you gain serious reader kudos if you can complete it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse