Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 5 September 2017
A fascinating first hand account of an 18th Century German visitor to England. It's a fascinating and actually an easy read with a wealth of detail. The book really takes on a life of its own once the author emerges from London and proceeds to travel on foot for much of his journey. The attitudes of the locals that he encounters are amazing in their perception of the author and how he is received. For the £0.00 price for the Kindle version, this is well worth the money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2015
A very readable account of the experiences of a visitor to England 233 years ago. The book gives fascinating detail of ordinary life and you feel you are getting a real sense of what the country was like back then at ground level. I was surprised at just how sophisticated London was and although life has changed enormously, how recognisable many things still are. An interesting account of a visit (a few visits) to the house of commons revealed a system which has hardly changed. This is an easy read and anyone with at least a passing interest in history will find this a worthwhile and entertaining read. A real gem..!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2015
I read this after a recommendation: it was mentioned in the footnotes of another book my father read, and he then recommended it to me.

Apart from the obvious interest in seeing how London and the villages and towns en route to Derby have changed, the real charm of the book lies in the writer's willingness to see the best in every situation, and take a real interest in the people and places he encounters. He's a generous and good-natured narrator, and I found myself not only wanting to visit these places, but read more of his correspondence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2016
A simple honest and engaging account of his short stay and adventures when attempting to travel mainly on foot in late 18thC England showing the kind of difficulties the suspicion and prejudice against seemingly impecunious travellers would cause then as it would today. It doesn't read like a translation as the English flows in natural order. An enjoyable read and insight into the England of the day through the eyes of a well-connected foreign visitor in letters sent to his friend..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2017
What a great book for social historians .Attitudes of the locals , experiences on stage coaches , tourist sites in the 18th century and the reviews of them ,places to stay and costs of said places and the meeting of local personalities ...what a great book .I wish I could have bumped into this fellow 230 odd years ago and helped him on his way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2015
I like this book. It consists of gentle observations which bring to life 18th century England. It is a Victorian translation so very easy to read. I was amused to discover that so little has changed in 250 years: miserable waitresses; overpriced snacks in the theatre; perishing cold in June; parts of London where you daren't go after dark for fear of being mugged; but beautiful countryside and places of interest with lots of nice people along the way. Read it if you fancy something that isn't too demanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2015
There are plenty of excellent reviews of this book, which leave little to be added by me. It would be interesting if only for its description of the good folk of Burton-on-Trent, the only place where he met overwhelming suspicion as a foreigner. It does only cover London, and the way to Derby via Oxford and Birmingham, so it is unfortunate that he spent no time at all in Birmingham and has nothing to say about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2015
Fascinating account written by a visitor to England in 1782. England is a new experience for this traveller from Germany. At first he spends time exploring London. Afterwards he sets off, sometimes by stagecoach, sometimes walking, to explore more of England. He is often surprised by English customs and behaviour and discovers, to his discomfort, that travellers on foot are not always welcome at inns. He perseveres with some difficult journeys and encounters and gives us this interesting perspective of 18th century England
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2013
This is an excellent book; and the content is very unique . Written by a German visitor to England in 1782, and I think I'm right in saying, rewritten in 1886. Even though it was written so long ago it still makes very pleasant, easy reading. His description of England is very interesting especially if you are familiar with the areas he visits i.e. London, Richmond, Oxford, Derbyshire and intermediate villages. He describes the reception he receives from many of the people he encounters which gives wonderful insight into the psyche of the English population during the eighteenth century.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2013
Fascinating insight into 18th century England. Observations on character, dress, education, towns villages, buildings, playhouses, pleasure gardens, press gangs, highwaymen, footpads, Inns, roads,stage coaches,parliament and so much more. The differences in attitude depending on whether he arrived by carriage or on foot or had changed his shirt was enlightening as was how often he was 'ripped off'. I still cant decide whether this young german vicars comments about the bold women importuning for wine or the young woman who offered her arm and asked him why he walked alone in the pleasure gardens were naïve or merely discrete.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)