Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£10.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2012
TO THE question: 'Was it worth the wait'? The answer is both simple and affirmative.
Yes, lead single 'Raining Rock' is a genuine hard rock classic, and yes, the accompanying video is one of the most entertaining the rock world has seen for a while, but rest assured, 'RR' is far from the only strong track showcased here - in fact, there are NO weak moments.
It was never going to be easy for the band to follow up their cracking 'Get Your Hands Dirty' debut, but there's no question that this mighty task has been achieved; from the production to the songwriting, from the playing to the performances, everything on display (including the artwork and photos) has been cranked up a notch... several notches, in fact.
There are all sorts of cool reference points on display here, from prime AOR ('Prison Of Love' + 'Never Gonna Give It Up') through to sinewy, sleazy rock ('Less Torque, More Thrust') and more measured moments such as 'Black Gold' + 'The Sweet And The Brave', but the thing that shines through most strongly is the sheer, glorious quality of the songwriting.
Hugely recommended. Time to get stoned!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
pre-ordered this album, put it on straightaway, pleasently surprised, a continuation on from get your hands dirty, still a few cocksure songs as per, but its also the sound of a band who are , really finding their musical wings, more complicated arrangements , and some damn fine rock songs et al obligatory ballad, which is good, so they are emerging as a great british rock band and making some new followeres along the way, a good album...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
If you love awesome Riffs and dirty sounding Rock paired with well written lyrics, this is the album for you.
It's such a good album in my opinion and as good as their first one Get your hands dirty.
You wont be disappointed!

Get it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2012
Yeah ok, I'll admit I am a huge fan of this band as not only do they have great songs & put on great live shows, but they are also a great bunch of guys who are very appreciative of their fans.
The second album is always a notoriously tough thing to do for any band as the debut is a work of many years of writing and performing, with the material for the second album being a lot more rushed, for want of a better word. Its especially tough when the debut is a total corker of an album.
So how do Jettblack do with their second release? Well as the title says, they do an awesome job.
While some of the songs may not be as instant as those on the debut, all the songs on here have their own merits. Some are classic instantaneous hook laden monsters, others are more complex slow burners that hook themselves into your brain after a few more plays.
There is nothing modern on here, its good old fashioned no thrills classic rock. Will and Jon once again share vocal and guitar duties, with Wills guitar style having a more bluesey slant and Jons a more quickfire flash somewhat akin to the likes of Eddie Van Halen. Matt and Tom provide a rhythm section that is as solid as any I have heard, and the power is as evident as ever.
If I have one complaint of this album its the two bonus tracks. The second version of Raining Rock has guest vocals from ex-Accept front man, Udo.
I have no problem with Udo as I do like Accept, but I just dont think his vocal song fits the song ... but thats just my opinion.
The other bonus song, Weapon, annoys me as its not on the CD, and is only available on download. Its getting very annoying that those of us who still love the idea of having something physical in our hands, are getting shorted, and especially when the downloadable version is so damn quiet its unbelievable. (I had the same issue with the new Trixter CD as well)

Overall, anyone who loved the debut will be very happy with the new album, and am sure it will cause some debate between fans as to which album is better.
Anyone who has not heard the band (are you mad?) would be just as recommended to pick up this one as I would recommend the debut, as both or incredibly good examples that old school rock will never die.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
I Thought the tracks on this album are brilliant.
And I really like this album and went to see band live which why giving high marks.
I would recommend this album to people that like to rock!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
One of the best albums I've bought in the past few years. From Raining Rock to Prison of Love. Awesome band!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
Jettblack's debut was a welcome injection of proper hard-rock/heavy-metal to a scene lacking substance. And the fact that they're English makes it all the more impressive. This successor to the debut is a lesson in how to hone one's craft. The production is even bigger, and the songs both faster, heavier and more accessible (somehow). The lyrics are at times heartfelt whilst at other times give Steel Panther a run for their money in terms of bravado. A good mix of pace, stomp and singalong. Stand-out tracks for me are 'Prison of Love', 'Something About This Girl', 'In-Between Lovers' and the huge title track. But in truth, there's not a weak song here. The whole thing is a perfect driving album... Make sure you catch them live and make sure you check out the video for 'Raining Rock'!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2012
I LOVE this album! I've had it on 'repeat' since I bought it & find it impossible to say anything negative about it. 'Raining Rock' is a storming openner, which is followed by a fabulous range of tracks, providing light & shade - from hard rock numbers to the more melodic ballads, with everything in between! After a couple of listens, I defy you to stop yourself from singing along.
Jettblack have got it all - great look, great sound & an amazing live show. These boys can really cut it. Their music is reminiscent of so many of those cool 80's rock bands, but with their own stomping originality. Really. Go on, buy it, you'll love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
I love this cd, its classic rock at its best, only heard of them recently and i'm going to see them! So if you like your old school classic rock with plenty of guitar, this one's for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Their best single up until today is on this album...and it's a pure energic anthem... togheter with other great songs like Prison Of Love or Less Torque More Thrust!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)