Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
57
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2013
Even blades I consider too blunt for use are still very sharp - removal is easy enough but then you are left with a blade to dispose of. I bought this more to have a container to keep used blades safely away, the fact it facilitates the removal of the blade is a bonus.

If you are wary of removing blades this is a simple tool that takes the blade safely away from your fingers whilst removing it and then stores the blades (up to 100 - but I haven't tested that limit yet!) prior to disposal.

If you wonder how to use it - Swann Morton have little youtube videos on their site and on youtube demonstrating how to use this device safely - have a quick watch to see if this will help you before buying. Personally I think it is worth it for safe storage of used, but still sharp, blades.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2016
Others seem to have experienced difficulty using this but with a little experimentation, I found it quite easy to use even though there were no instructions iincluded. I was more interested in the safety aspect than how easy or hard it was to use. I had changed scalpel blades for years without taking precautions and generally had no problem but accidents do sometimes happen and as I grow older, I seem to heal from cuts more slowly. I think this small box is just the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
This device doesnt work with the Swann Morton retractaway Handle, instead i had to use a pair of pliers to remove and fix the blade to the unit, But it does make for a good place to store the used blades.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
This gadget does the jpb very simply. Whilst there are no accompanying instructions there is a pictogram on the unit indicating insertion and a simple "press" instruction. That is all that is needed. And a still dangerous blade is safely secured.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
This item weighs 22g and 87mm at its longest point, 50mm deep and 25mm wide it safely removes scalpel blades without cutting or damaging you, it should dispose of scalpel blades (at least 100+) safely, not sure why other people cant get it to work its simple. I would recommend this product to others.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The actual product is fine and does what it is meant to do very well. However, the product description is misleading as you only receive one surgical blade remover, not two as is clearly stated throughout the description.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
very useful & easy product to use, just put the handle in with the blade on press the top then retract the handle, blade falls into container thus saving cut fingers, so simple to use a 5 yr old could do it!!!!! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
OK, so I thought that as this had the Swann-Morton brand itwould be a good design. Wrong! I use a range of S-M branded handles but none of them released the blade when inserted into the unit. Patience was not rewarded, except with a sliced thumb. Maybe I've got a defective unit but its safer to use small pliers to remove & fit scalpel blades as I've been doing for years. However, being positive, this does make for a useful sharps container.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
Works like a dream. Wish I'd bought one years ago. Now have friends who are impressed and are ordering themselves units.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Good price with an efficient service and it does just what I expected of it efficiently, plus easy to use.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here