Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
36
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2013
The story is told from the journal of Civil War soldier, Edward Young (Mark Gibson). It includes excessive boring narration. Rather than just let the story unfold, the narrator tells you what you are seeing. It grates on you after the first 30 minutes.

After a quick 1865 scene where a single Union soldier is a zombie, the movie jumps to 1871 and there is a minor zombie infestation. Edward had to kill his own wife (Sarah Stunt) and son, the later in an emotionally gripping scene as he holds his zombie son (Christian Martyn) in his arms (facing away) as he reluctantly puts a gun to his son's head... all the while his son is trying to eat his face off. Somehow I didn't feel it.

Bits and pieces of the story is told through animation, which unfortunately was far better than the main feature. Edward has tasked himself in taking his son's ashes to a waterfalls, something he had promised him when he was alive. There is an unwritten rule that all promises terminate with any zombie infestation, apparently not known in the 19th century. The story involves his journey to get there and the people/zombies he meets up with along the way.

Dee Wallace, the closet thing to an actor in this film gives us a career killer performance as she emotionally explains the origins of the living dead. It was tough to sit through. The film utilizes the sad piano/violin sound track for way too much of the production.

Zombie fans should avoid this one. I was confused as I couldn't tell if the film was a bad zombie film or a bad drama with zombies.

No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Zombie make-up was good where it was applied, exposed necks are optional.

***POSSIBLE PLOT SPOILER*** The film attempts to come across as a prequel for zombie films. It does a very poor job. It tells you zombies were created using African spells. But at the same time refutes that idea by making it seem zombies are caused by a virus, with one person in the film having natural immunity, and the infection spreading by a saliva/blood contact. You can't have it both ways.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
The story is told from the journal of Civil War soldier, Edward Young (Mark Gibson). It includes excessive boring narration. Rather than just let the story unfold, the narrator tells you what you are seeing. It grates on you after the first 30 minutes.

After a quick 1865 scene where a single Union soldier is a zombie, the movie jumps to 1871 and there is a minor zombie infestation. Edward had to kill his own wife (Sarah Stunt) and son, the later in an emotionally gripping scene as he holds his zombie son (Christian Martyn) in his arms (facing away) as he reluctantly puts a gun to his son's head... all the while his son is trying to eat his face off. Somehow I didn't feel it.

Bits and pieces of the story is told through animation, which unfortunately was far better than the main feature. Edward has tasked himself in taking his son's ashes to a waterfalls, something he had promised him when he was alive. There is an unwritten rule that all promises terminate with any zombie infestation, apparently not known in the 19th century. The story involves his journey to get there and the people/zombies he meets up with along the way.

Dee Wallace, the closet thing to an actor in this film gives us a career killer performance as she emotionally explains the origins of the living dead. It was tough to sit through. The film utilizes the sad piano/violin sound track for way too much of the production.

Zombie fans should avoid this one. I was confused as I couldn't tell if the film was a bad zombie film or a bad drama with zombies.

No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Zombie make-up was good where it was applied, exposed necks are optional.

***POSSIBLE PLOT SPOILER*** The film attempts to come across as a prequel for zombie films. It does a very poor job. It tells you zombies were created using African spells. But at the same time refutes that idea by making it seem zombies are caused by a virus, with one person in the film having natural immunity, and the infection spreading by a saliva/blood contact. You can't have it both ways.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
Probably interesting but there just wasnt really anything there to hold my interest, i'm a connoisseur of zombie flicks & this just felt like a rather dragged out drama, i like to explore variations of the genre but this just crawled along at a snail pace. It's not so much a zombie film but a drama with a few zombies thrown in to give it a tenuous link to the genra and it just wasnt what i was expecting nor was i suprisingly interested in the story, and it just got so dull half way thru that i didnt wanna waste any more of my time watching. I may give it another go but so far it's a pretty forgettable film with nothing that gets you hooked & draws you into it.....to be honest i've seen B-Movies with low rent acting & almost none-existant budget that have been far more intriguing... the morale of this story, is none.....thats gripping anyway, and thats the crux of any film no matter how bad/good the acting and how low budget/big budget. I wouldnt recommend this to a fan of the Zombie genre, i'd give it a wide birth, but if you're a fan of Drama's with the occasional titilation of threat & mild to zero shock & awe factor then you may like this allot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
I brave attempt at a zombie film with something a little more to it. Sadly it still fails on many levels including some bad acting, bad script, and bad editing! At times it was painful. but at others it was engaging. A mixed bag on all accounts and just about watchable to the end. As a rule of thumb is a film is punctuated with a V/O and chapter cards throughout to prop up the narrative then its already failed in my book.
three stars for at least trying to be more than just a zombie flick.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
if you go into this film expecting loads of blood and gore like most zombie films you will be very dissappointed.what you have is a quite long but thoughtful film charting one mans slide into grief and depression at the effect of his wife and son becoming zombies and his eventual redemption as he helps bring down a villanous ex general set against the background of the american civil war.a very different sort of film but one worth sticking with until the very end.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
Forays into history and twisting the events found therein and giving them a horror slant is becoming incredibly popular. Author Seth Grahame- Smith leads the charge with such projects as Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter; and his latest work Unholy Night, which is set to put a horror spin on the biblical tale of the Three Wise Men...
I love historical horror romps, zombies and post-apocalyptica and so, Exit Humanity was naturally attractive to me.

However, warily, I started to watch Exit Humanity and was almost immediately impressed when I was greeted by a narrative from Brian Cox (Braveheart, The Ring, Troy, Manhunter) and a brief battle scene from the American Civil War, with the addition of the undead!
As opposed to many zombie/infected films, Exit Humanity does not rely on gore or flesh-rending scenes to pad out proceedings. In fact, Exit Humanity is very much about the lead character Edward Young and how he copes with the bleak events which he faces. Relative newcomer Mark Gibson (Monster Brawl, Psych) delivers a believable performance as Young and is ably supported throughout by Adam Seybold and Jordan Hayes (Nostrum, 2012's House at the end of the Street); and surprisingly, by horror regulars such as Bill Moseley as the maniacal General Williams (The Devil's Rejects, Army of Darkness, House of 1000 Corpses), Stephen McHattie (A Little Bit Zombie, Watchmen, Red: Werewolf Hunter) and a turn from an almost unrecognisable Dee Wallace (The Holwing, Cujo, Critters) who gives proceedings greater depth with her expository role.

There were points during proceedings when this film could have veered off the precipice and become a straightforward action-horror. However, writer and director John Geddes has created something special with Exit Humanity and manages to marry up the performances of his actors, an appropriate score, quality special effects by The Brothers Gore (Jeff & Jason Derushie) and bleak, bleached footage perfectly to create an atmosphere that are absent from much larger projects, never mind a small independent film.

At times, I was reminded of a number of different films, most notably The Outlaw Josey Wales. This may seem strange but I submit to you that Exit Humanity and Josey Wales both have as their central characters hardy men who are haunted by the events of their past and Exit Humanity does indeed have a kind of Western vibe to it.

I loved Exit Humanity. It is an ambitious horror tale that does an incredible amount with a very modest budget. However, it won't be for everyone. I suspect that fans of the zombie sub-genre may be left a little disappointed since the pace of the film is distinctly more relaxed than your average undead/infected flick. Additionally, there are brief interludes of animation which may not fit with the majority's impression of conventional horror films. To my mind, Exit Humanity dared to be different and pulls it off incredibly well.

Exit Humanity is not only a tremendously powerful horror film; but simply a tremendous film that is rendered all the more impressive when factoring in that it is an independent production.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
I loved this film. It comes within my favourite genre of zombie films and a zombie film in a western setting is a great format that works so well. A Great soundtrack compliments what was a thoroughly enjoyable movie. I buy lots of films on the reviews alone, not really knowing what I'm gonna get and this one proved to be a real treat. Buy it and enjoy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
will put you to sleep faster than being hit in the head with a sledge hammer
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This film is charactor driven and I applaud it for trying to be different. However it doesn"t always work because the main protaganists are not strong enough to carry this brave attempt through it"s entirety.
There are shades of Day Of The Dead [1986] [DVD] here: an underground bunker complex controlled by a megalomaniacal leader, a doctor conducting experiments on "the undead". But Romero added vast amounts of gore,sympathetic charactors and repellent villains(including the Zombies).
Here our hero decides not to kill some Zombies,confessing that they were once ordinary people like him. This is all part of the novel approach to this genre(it is also set in the American West,with Colts and Winchesters,not shotguns and chain-saws!).
If you want plenty of gore,violence and suspense watch a Romero classic.
Exit Humanity is much more slow burning with,I assume,a tiny budget and thus it punches above its weight.
A bonus for me is that the impeccable Brian Cox narrates parts of the film.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
Interesting idea but it fails to deliver as its too slow and poorly directed cannot recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.63
£5.92

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)