Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10

on 23 March 2017
Electric folk at it's best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 October 2007
Not folk music in the traditional sense, but acoustic music with an occasional rock and roll feel, a slight jazzy/blues tint and with a few tracks veering towards seventies pop and rock.

I've heard a bit of Magna Carta before and find it occasionally a bit twee, but this compilation is very varied and highlights the eclectic nature of the band. Occasionally it is breathtaking, especially on "Highway to Spain" - the 2nd CD is mainly tracks from the 1980s/1990s, but the addition of period synths can't dim the wonderful melodies & lyrics. You'll be humming Airport Song for months after this.

A real gem of a compilation.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2011
This is a great compilation. I had never really heard Magna Carta's music but knew there reputation. It is a great CD; the playing of instruments, lyrics and vocals are just wonderful. Well worth having in your collection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2011
I bought this album when I saw the track "No Truth In The Rumour" on it. That was one track that stould out on the album with the same name which came out in 1979. I should have bought the album straight away but didn't as the album contained 2 songs from their next album "Midnight Blue" which I had heard first. I hate repetition but sometimes like lately I've found it worth while. I bought this album despite already having CD1(an exact replica of the 1991 album Old Masters and New Horizons with the exception of the first track) Tracks on CD 2 new to me were "Love On The Wire", "Visions In A Crowd" and "Sting On The Gin" the latter to reappear on the album "Where To Now". Anyway it's nice to listen to a compilation of one's favourite songs even if some appear on other albums in one's possession.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2013
Simply exquisite songs of real quality. If you have not previously listened to, or owned, Magna Carta, this is the collection to introduce you to the band. You will be wonderfully surprised and hugely impressed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2013
Simply all the best of Magna Carta. Good notes on the band as well. would recommend it to all fans
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2016
Great memories good service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 September 2015
Great lots of new songs :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2015
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)