Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10
Rameau: Une symphonie imaginaire
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 18 March 2013
An excellent cd. Like a previous reviewer, I had heard on Classic FM "The Dance of The Savages" and loved it, so I bought this on the strength of Savages alone. This is the cd to buy if you are after the Classic FM version. I was trying to describe it to a friend, and the best I could come up was "Imagine you are just about to go over to the dark side whilst being at a French Aristocratic Ball (one of the King Louis), wearing a mask and it all gets a bit naughty." My friend didn't get me at all! Have listened to rest of cd and not surprisingly prefer some more than others, but as an overall entry to ease a person into it, but you don't want to risk a more expensive version, then this is the cd to buy. I also received it very promptly, so thank you for that.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2012
Heard two great Rameau pieces on Classic FM, who told me this is the DVD they are on. Super collection of pieces by Rameau, many of which sound much more recent than the dates they were written. And excellent sound quality too!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 26 February 2015
Imagine if Rameau (1683-1764) wrote a symphony during his lifetime. Acknowledged as a master of compositional writing, he never wrote for the orchestra alone. But if he had, what would it have sounded like? To get an idea, Marc Minkowski and the wonderful Les Musiciens des Louvre have woven together some of the most beautiful music ever written, and put it together in a way that Rameau would, I'm sure, have approved of wholeheartedly. The pieces are those of Rameau himself, and here we have:
Zais - Overture
Castor et Pollux - Scene funebre
Les Fete d'Hebe - Air tendre
Dardanus - Tambourins I and II
Le Temple de la Gloire - Air tendre pour les Muses
Les Boreades - Contredanse en Rondeau
La Naissance d'Osiris - Air gracieux
Les Boreades - Gavottes I and II pour les Heures et les Zephirs
Platee - Orage
Les Boreades - Prelude
Concert no. 6 from Six Concerts en sextour - La Poule
Les Fete d'Hebe - Musette en Rondeau - Tambourin
Hippolyte and Aricie - Ritournelle
Nais - Rigaudons I and II
Les Indes Galantes - Danse des Sauvages
Les Boreades - Entrée de Polymnie
Les Indes Galantes - Chaconne

In my opinion, Rameau was out on his own - his music is eternally beautiful, totally wonderful, uplifting, emotional, just superb. And Marc Minkowski and the Les Musiciens des Louvres have done a totally wonderful job here - outstandingly put together a number of Rameau's beautiful pieces in a way that fits seamlessly together and presented it as an "imaginary symphony". Their work pays tribute to an outstanding composer and does it in a wonderfully sympathetic way, played on authentic instruments. I cannot recommend this cd highly enough - it is just totally superb - 56 minutes of total pleasure.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 26 February 2015
Imagine if Rameau (1683-1764) wrote a symphony during his lifetime. Acknowledged as a master of compositional writing, he never wrote for the orchestra alone. But if he had, what would it have sounded like? To get an idea, Marc Minkowski and the wonderful Les Musiciens des Louvre have woven together some of the most beautiful music ever written, and put it together in a way that Rameau would, I'm sure, have approved of wholeheartedly. The pieces are those of Rameau himself, and here we have:
Zais - Overture
Castor et Pollux - Scene funebre
Les Fete d'Hebe - Air tendre
Dardanus - Tambourins I and II
Le Temple de la Gloire - Air tendre pour les Muses
Les Boreades - Contredanse en Rondeau
La Naissance d'Osiris - Air gracieux
Les Boreades - Gavottes I and II pour les Heures et les Zephirs
Platee - Orage
Les Boreades - Prelude
Concert no. 6 from Six Concerts en sextour - La Poule
Les Fete d'Hebe - Musette en Rondeau - Tambourin
Hippolyte and Aricie - Ritournelle
Nais - Rigaudons I and II
Les Indes Galantes - Danse des Sauvages
Les Boreades - Entrée de Polymnie
Les Indes Galantes - Chaconne

In my opinion, Rameau was out on his own - his music is eternally beautiful, totally wonderful, uplifting, emotional, just superb. And Marc Minkowski and the Les Musiciens des Louvres have done a totally wonderful job here - outstandingly put together a number of Rameau's beautiful pieces in a way that fits seamlessly together and presented it as an "imaginary symphony". Their work pays tribute to an outstanding composer and does it in a wonderfully sympathetic way, played on authentic instruments. I cannot recommend this cd highly enough - it is just totally superb - 56 minutes of total pleasure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 26 February 2015
Imagine if Rameau (1683-1764) wrote a symphony during his lifetime. Acknowledged as a master of compositional writing, he never wrote for the orchestra alone. But if he had, what would it have sounded like? To get an idea, Marc Minkowski and the wonderful Les Musiciens des Louvre have woven together some of the most beautiful music ever written, and put it together in a way that Rameau would, I'm sure, have approved of wholeheartedly. The pieces are those of Rameau himself, and here we have:
Zais - Overture
Castor et Pollux - Scene funebre
Les Fete d'Hebe - Air tendre
Dardanus - Tambourins I and II
Le Temple de la Gloire - Air tendre pour les Muses
Les Boreades - Contredanse en Rondeau
La Naissance d'Osiris - Air gracieux
Les Boreades - Gavottes I and II pour les Heures et les Zephirs
Platee - Orage
Les Boreades - Prelude
Concert no. 6 from Six Concerts en sextour - La Poule
Les Fete d'Hebe - Musette en Rondeau - Tambourin
Hippolyte and Aricie - Ritournelle
Nais - Rigaudons I and II
Les Indes Galantes - Danse des Sauvages
Les Boreades - Entrée de Polymnie
Les Indes Galantes - Chaconne

In my opinion, Rameau was out on his own - his music is eternally beautiful, totally wonderful, uplifting, emotional, just superb. And Marc Minkowski and the Les Musiciens des Louvres have done a totally wonderful job here - outstandingly put together a number of Rameau's beautiful pieces in a way that fits seamlessly together and presented it as an "imaginary symphony". Their work pays tribute to an outstanding composer and does it in a wonderfully sympathetic way, played on authentic instruments. I cannot recommend this cd highly enough - it is just totally superb - 56 minutes of total pleasure.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2013
I bought the digital download version of Rameau: Une symphonie imaginaire for £4.99 which includes a digital booklet. It is the 'first choice' edition from 2012. There is a 2005 version currently costing £7.49 but as far as I can tell there is no difference besides the older version having a higher price and no booklet, so be wary and get this one! Or buy the CD if you want a copy to keep.

As for the album itself, we are treated to 17 tracks selected from the French baroque composer Jean-Philippe Rameau's repertoire. The selection comprises instrumental pieces with an emphasis on strings, taken from Rameau's operas such as the Les Boréades and Les indes galantes. The disparate pieces are woven into a musical journey with moments of high grandeur, danceable spirit and lush elegance.

Highlights for me include Danse des Sauvages, which is played with obvious relish by Les Musiciens de Louvre, and Air tendre from Les fêtes d'Hébé, which is a sumptuously soft and delicately hesitant piece of music. Somehow for me it conjures up an ingénue's midnight steps towards an illicit lover's chamber.

The whole 'symphony' is easily worth the price. It is entertaining in the richest sense of the word.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2014
You can't go wrong with Rameau but when it's in Minkowski's hands, it then becomes something more special and this recording is among his best :-) All the best bits on one CD - or in my case, download!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2016
Great French Baroque from the Master of the Tradegy Lyric by masters of JP's music Dances beguiling, tribal,regal foot tapping enough to get up and dance your self I do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2014
Simply excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2015
excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Rameau: Les Indes Galantes (Suites) (DECCA The Originals)
£8.13

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)